Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Holywell

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.



  • The parish was in the Corby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1851 H.O. 107 / 2095
1861 R.G. 9 / 2315
1871 R.G. 10 / 3311
1891 R.G. 12 / 2555


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Holywell area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church was dedicated to Saint Wilfrid.
  • The small church was of Norman origin.
  • For centuries, Holywell was only a chapelry of Castle Bytham.
  • A chapel was built here during the reign of Queen Anne, apparently from the stones of a Norman church in Aunby which proceeded it.
  • The church was restored in 1863-64.
  • The chapel seats 84.
  • Wendy PARKINSON has a photograph of St. Wilfrid's Church on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2009.
  • The Diocese of Lincoln declared this church redundant in February, 1981. It was gifted as a private chapel.
  • Rex NEEDLE has a photograph of the church interior on Geo-graph, taken in June, 1999.

Church Records

  • Holywell parish registers exist from 1558.
  • The LFHS has published several indexes (marriage and burial) for the Beltisloe Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Kelly's 1900 Direcotry of Lincolnshire places this parish in the Deanery of Ness.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Corby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July 1837.

Description and Travel

Holywell is a village, a township and a parish which lies just east of the A1 trunk road, south of Castle Bytham and just 7 miles north of Stamford. County Rutland forms the west and south border of the parish. The small hamlet of Aunby lies in the parish.

There isn't much left of the village these days. If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Holywell which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Holywell has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • Holywell Hall, a stone mansion in a wooded park, was the seat of Col. Charles BIRCH-REYNARDSON, lord of the manor, in 1900.
  • Wendy PARKINSON has a photograph of Holywell Hall on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2009.
  • Christine JOHNSTONE has a photograph of the Gates to Holywell Hall on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2010.


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF000160 (Lat/Lon: 52.732374, -0.520476), Holywell which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • We can presume that the name derives from the Old English for "Holy Well." A medicinal spring rises in the parish.

Politics and Government

  • Before it became a Civil Parish, Holywell was a township and chapelry in Careby parish.
  • The parish was in the ancient Beltisloe Wapentake in the South Kesteven district and parts of Kesteven.
  • The Civil Parish was dissolved in 1931 and the land incorporated into Careby Civil Parish.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.


Year  Inhabitants
1801 98
1831 119
1841 98
1871 73
1881 63
1891 70
1901 96
1921 67