Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Honington

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Honington

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Grantham sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 619
1851 H.O. 107 / 2100
1861 R.G. 9 / 2353
1871 R.G. 10 / 3362
1891 R.G. 12 / 2586
1901 R.G. 13 / 3056

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Honington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Wilford (some sources show "Wilfrid" and others "Wilfred") and clearly shows Norman influence in its design.
  • The church tower and chancel were added to the original structure in the 13th century.
  • The interior of the church tower was restored in 1873.
  • The church chancel was restored in 1889.
  • The church seats 120.
  • Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Honington St. Wilfrid parish church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1561. The years between 1639 and 1673 are in poor condition.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1527 to 1813 and Marriages from 1527 to 1810.
  • The National Burial Index (NBI) lists 263 burials at Honington between 1813 and 1900.
  • The LFHS has published several indexes for the Loveden Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The National Burial Index lists 263 burials at Honington between 1813 and 1900.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Grantham sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This village and parish lies 111 miles north of London and just over 5 miles north of Grantham. Barkston parish is just to the south, with Ancaster parish to the east and Carlton Scroop to the north. The parish covers about 1,480 acres.

The village of Honington is just east of the A607 trunk road at the point where the A153 trunk road splits off and heads east to Sleaford. If you are planning a visit:

  • Be aware that there is a Honington in Warwickshire, Suffolk, and Norfolk as well. Make sure that you've got the right one!
  • Bus service is provided by two companies: Carberry and UKBus. Check our Transport page for more information.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Honington which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Honington has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • There is an Iron Age Hill Fort site at Honington, covering about 1 and 1/3 acres, open Saturdays in good weather for pre-booked tours. Normally, the public does not have access to the interior, but a footpath runs around the eastern edge of the fort, giving some idea of its size and scope. The site was also occupied by the Romans and in 1691 an urn, filled with Roman coins, was unearthed at the site. Subsequently, many other artifacts have been uncovered, including spears, bridle-bits and swords.
  • Limestone was quarried here in the late 19th century by the Stanton Iron Works Co. Limited.
  • The Great Northern Railway had a station here at the junction of the Grantham, Sleaford, Boston, Lincoln, and Honington branches.
  • A new rail line from Lincoln to Honington was opened in April 1967. The railway provided a shortcut between the east coast mainline and Lincoln. The line is no longer in use.
  • Check the history of the Wapentake at the Loveden Wapentake website.

Manors

  • Honington Hall was the seat of the APREECE family until purchased in 1851 by Miss Mary Elizabeth Trafford SOUTHWELL. Miss SOUTHWELL had virtually every house in the parish rebuilt and improved, including rebuilding the Hall in 1861 and 1862.
  • The Hall was torn down and demolished in the 1940s.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK940430 (Lat/Lon: 52.976096, -0.601526), Honington which are provided by:

Military History

  • In 1930 Wing Commander Edward Roux L. CORBALLIS lived here in Honington House.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Honington is from the Old English Hund+ing+ton, for "estate of a man named Hund". In the 1086 Domesday Book it first appears as Hundintone.
    ["A Dictionary of English Place-Names," A. D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Loveden Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • In Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire, the parish is reported to be in the Winnibriggs & Threo Wapentake. NOTE: The parish was in the W&T Wapentake until some time in the 1830s, then was reassigned to the Loveden Wapentake.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spittlegate petty session hearings.
  • Care of the poor dates back to 1533 when John HUSSEY, Esq., mandated that £20 be paid yearly to ten poor persons, six of whom were to be Honington parishoners.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Grantham Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 106
1831 159
1841 147
1851 152
1861 157
1871 171
1881 177
1891 183
1901 189
1911 182
1921 159

Schools

  • A parochial school was first erected here in 1863. It was converted into a public elementary school and had an average attendance of about 10 around 1911.
  • The older children of the parish attended schools at Carlton Scroop and Barkston.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.