Horbling
- The parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1851 |
H.O. 107 / 2095 |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2316 |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3313 |
- The priory of Holland Bridge was founded by Godwin of Lincoln before 1200 and was dedicated to St. Saviour. The ruins of the priory are at the east end of the parish, near Car Dyke.
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Andrew.
- Some portions of the church building appear to be from the early Norman period.
- The church was restored in 1852 and again in 1877.
- The church seats about 300 people.
- There is a photograph of St. Andrew's Church on the Wendy Parkinson web site under her "Still more Lincolnshire churches".
- Here is a photo of St. Andrew's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish registers exist from 1653. Bishop's transcripts go back to 1561.
- We have the beginnings of a Parish Register Extract in text form for your use. Your additions and corrections are welcome.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Aveland and Ness Deanery to make your search easier.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Horbling is both a village and a parish just over one mile north of Billingborough and 14 miles east of Grantham. Swaton parish lies to the north. The South Forty Foot Drain completes the eastern border. Bridge End is a small hamlet in Horbling parish, about 1.5 miles east of the village. The parish encompasses over 3,000 acres.
The old Car Dyke passes just east of the village. If you are planning a visit:
- By automobile, the B1177 road passes through the center of the parish.
- See our touring page for visitor services.
- For centuries, Hobling depended on a fine spring in the heart of the village for its water. If you are visiting, stop and tour the Plough Inn on Spring Lane.
- The Horbling Line is an old Railway track currently being maintained as a nature preserve.
- The Lincolnshire Archives holds a copy of the papers of "Benjamin Smith, solicitor, Horbling: diaries, accounts and papers 1788-1854 (SMITH 15)".
- Horbling Hall was the residence of Benjamin SMITH in 1900.
- The national grid reference is TF 1135.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer #248 map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for resources.
- In the 1086 Domesday Book, the village name is rendered as Horbelinge, from the Old English Horu+bill+ingas meaning "muddy settlement of the followers of Bill".
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
- This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
- The parish was in the ancient Aveland Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
- For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.
The parish grew quickly in the 1800s.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
387 |
| 1831 |
559 |
| 1841 |
571 |
| 1871 |
578 |
| 1881 |
501 |
| 1891 |
482 |
| 1901 |
445 |
| 1911 |
434 |
| 1921 |
360 |
| 1931 |
375 |
| 1991 |
383 |
- A Free School was founded here in 1691 by Edward Browne. That building was replaced in 1845 by another Edward Brown, Reverend. That building was replaced in 1851 and enlarged in 1892. You will still find the "Brown's Church of England Primary School," now with 68 students, on Sandygate Lane. Matthew FLINDERS was a student at the local Grammar School.
- The Public Elementary School was built to hold 150 children.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 5-May-2010 - Louis R. Mills]