Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Hougham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Hougham

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Claypole sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 619
1861 R.G. 9 / 2482
1891 R.G. 12 / 2716

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hougham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican church is dedicated to All Saints.
  • The church is built in the Anglo-Norman style. It contains a monument to the Knight Templar, Sir Hugh de BUSSEY. There is also a large tomb dedicated to Arthur William THOROLD.
  • The church underwent restorations in 1845 and 1895-6.
  • The church seats about 150.
  • A photograph of All Saints is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of All Saints Church on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2010.
  • Here is a photo of All Saints Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

All Saints Church

Church Records

  • The parish register dates from 1562 and there are some entries from Marston mixed in.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1561 to 1812 and Marriages from 1561 to 1812.
  • Boyd's Marriage Index holds parish marriages from 1560 to 1837.
  • The Society of Genealogists have the parish registers on file for 1756-1838.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes for the Loveden Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Claypole sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration starting in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Hougham is both a village and a parish on the north bank of the River Witham, six miles north-northwest of Grantham and 112 miles north of London. Marston parish lies to the south, just across the river, and Barkston parish to the east. The parish covers about 2,600 acres in a roughly east-west rectangular orientation.

The village of Hougham boasts of pre-Conquest origins. The River Witham runs past the southern edge of the village, heading west to Long Bennington. If you are planning a visit:

  • Take the A1 motorway or the A607 trunk road north out of Grantham and turn off at the signs for Marston.
  • Horse riding is popular and there is an equine veterinary near the village.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Hougham which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Hougham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • The great Northern Railway had a station about a mile east of the village.

Land and Property

  • In 1871, Sir John Henry THOROLD, baronet, was the principle landowner. He was still the principal landowner in 1913.

Manors

  • There was a moated Manor House here for many centuries, property of the BRUDENELL family. In 1871 it was occupied by a local farmer.
  • John ALLEN has a photograph of Hougham Manor House on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2013.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK880440 (Lat/Lon: 52.986100, -0.690586), Hougham which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • The name Hougham is probably Old English hough+ham, for "river meadow of Hough-on-the-Hill". In the 1086 Domesday Book is is rendered as Hacham.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Names, Personal

  • Here's a list of surnames found in White's 1871 Directory: ASHER, BAXTER, BROWN, HICKSON, HILL, MORLEY, MOSS, PARKES, PARKINS, PICKERING, RAWLING, SAXILBY, SCOTT, THOROLD and WORMSLEY.
  • Kelley's 1913 Directory lists these surnames: CLARKE, COOLING, HICKSON, HORNSBY, PARKE, PARKINS, PEET, PICK, RAWDING, SCHOFIELD, SCOTT, THOROLD, WADDINGTON, WING, WINTER and WORMSLEY.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Loveden Wapentake in the South Kesteven division of the county, in the parts of Kesteven.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • The poor were left the interest on £20, of which £14 was donated by Mrs. BERRY and £4 by Mary WILDMAN (no date provided).
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Newark Poor Law Union in 1837.
  • Bastardy cases would have been heard in the Spittlegate (Grantham) Petty Session hearings.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 280
1841 337
1851 345
1871 298
1881 271
1891 287
1911 230

Schools

  • The children of the parish attended school in Marston.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.