Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Howell

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Howell

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Heckington sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In an 1890 district re-organisation, the parish was placed in the "Sleaford" sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1861 R.G. 9 / 2345
1871 R.G. 10 / 3352
1891 R.G. 12 / 2579

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Howell area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Oswald.
  • The church appears to be of Norman origin (14th century). It was restored in 1870.
  • The church is small, seating only about 50 persons.
  • Here is a photo of Saint Oswald's Church, taken by (and copyright of) Ron Cole.

Saint Oswald's church

Church Records

  • The parish register dates from 1710.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1563 to 1812 and Marriages from 1563 to 1811.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Heckington sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In an 1890 district re-organisation, the parish was placed in the "Sleaford" sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Howell is both a parish and a small village in the Wold hills, about four miles east of Sleaford. Ewerby parish lies to the north, Heckington parish to the south. The parish covers about 1,450 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the A17 trunk road east from Sleaford and turn north at Heckington.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Howell which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Howell has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Howell to another place.

History

  • In 1885, Asgarby Fenn and Carr Dyke Bank were transferred from Asgarby to Howell parish.

Manors

  • The manor, anciently called Huwell or Heuwell, was long held by a knighly family of the same name. Eventually it passed to the HEBDEN family, who possessed it for more than a century. It then descended by marriage to the DYMOKE family. It was sold in 1803 by J. C. L. CALCRAFT.

Maps

  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF130460 (Lat/Lon: 52.999388, -0.317636), Howell which are provided by:

Names, Personal

  • White's 1842 Directory of Lincolnshire lists these person in the parish: Ebenezer BROOKES, Edward BROOKES, William HALL, John RIPPON and George SARDESON.
  • White's 1872 Directory of Lincolnshire lists these person in the parish: William Bell BALDWICK, John Walter DUDDING and Henry SARDESON.
  • White's 1882 Directory of Lincolnshire lists these person in the parish: John Walter DUDDING, William HOLMES, Henry SARDESON and the Rev. John C. C. UNDERWOOD.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aswardhurn Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, in the parts of Kesteven.
  • In April, 1931, this Civil Parish was amalgamated into the new Asgarby and Howell Civil Parish.
  • You may contact the local Joint Parish Council for current civic or political issues and actions. They will NOT do family history searches for you.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 75
1821 67
1841 72
1871 86
1881 89
1891 73
1911 83

Schools

  • The parish has a long-standing entitlement to send two free scholars to the school at Ewerby.
  • The parish is part of the Ewerby school district. The children of the parish attended school at Heckington.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.