Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Ingham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Ingham

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • We have a partial 1901 Census Surname list in text form. You are welcome to add to our data.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 638
1861 R.G. 9 / 2364
1871 R.G. 10 / 3377
1891 R.G. 12 / 2596
1901 R.G. 13 / 3066

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ingham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
  • The church is a small building of stone. It was partly rebuilt in 1792 and has had various restorations since.
  • The church seats about 120.
  • Here is a photo of All Saints Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

All Saints Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from the year 1567.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1567 to 1812 and Marriages from 1567 to 1811.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Wesleyan, United and Primitive Methodists each had a chapel here, built in 1834, 1854 and 1836 respectively. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration beginning in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Ingham in the Ashes (normally just "Ingham") is both a village and a parish about 8 miles north of the city of Lincoln and 12 miles southeast of Gainsborough. Cammeringham parish lies to the south and Fillingham parish to the north (note the "ingham" in each name).

If you are planning a visit:

  • Take the B1398 north out of Lincoln. The village is about 7 miles outside of Lincoln.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Ingham which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Ingham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ingham to another place.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK940830 (Lat/Lon: 53.335552, -0.589794), Ingham which are provided by:

Military History

  • In May, 1942, the RAF opened an airfield here near the border with Cammeringham parish.
  • Inintially the field was used by Polish Wellington squadrons.
  • In November, 1944, the RAF changed the name of the field to RAF Cammeringham in order to avoid confusion with other places named Ingham.
  • By January, 1945, the grass runways had deteriorated so much that takeoffs and landings were dangerous. The field was closed later that year.
  • The Control Towers site has photographs of the remaining buildings and structures.

Military Records

There was a very nice photograph of the Ingham War Memorial and a complete list of the names on on the plaques at the Ingham Parish Council web site. Unfortunately, they are moving their web site and at last check, the war memorial is not available.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Divil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aslacoe Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln (Bail and Close) petty session hearings on the 1st and 3rd Friday of every month.
  • The Common Lands were enclosed here in 1796.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 225
1831 361
1841 514
1851 612
1881 596
1891 522
1911 459

Schools

  • A School Board was formed in the parish in April, 1875.
  • A Public Elementary School for 100 children was built here in 1878 and opened in April of that year.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.