Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Ingoldmells

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.




  • The parish was in the Burgh sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
  • We have an extract of a small portion of the 1901 surname index which you are welcome to review or add to.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 638
1851 H.O. 107 / 2110
1861 R.G. 9 / 2376
1871 R.G. 10 / 3394
1891 R.G. 12 / 2604
1901 R.G. 13 / 3077


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ingoldmells area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Peter and Saint Paul.
  • The original date of construction is circa 1180.
  • The tower was added in the 14th century.
  • The church chancel was taken down about 1706 because it had deteriorated.
  • The church was restored in 1858 and again in 1898.
  • The church is a Grade I listed building with British Heritage.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Peter & St. Paul's Church on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2009.

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers date from 1561.
  • The Bishop's Transcripts of those registers dates from 1562 through 1839. Both can be ordered from the London Family History Centre on microfilm.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Calcewaith and Candleshoe Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Primitive Methodists had a chapel built here in 1836. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Burgh sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Ingoldmells (sometimes "Ingoldmels") is both a village and a parish that lie on the North Sea about 10 miles south-east of Alford and 4 miles north of Skegness. Winthorpe parish lies to the south and Chapel St. Leonard parish to the north. Ingoldmells Point is the eastern-most point of land in Lincolnshire at high tide.

The village can be reached by taking the A52 trunk road north from Skegness. Today it is a popular summer resort with cabins and caravan parks for tourists and families on holiday. If you are planning a visit:

  • Here you can find Fantasy Island, Britain's first themed indoor resort.
  • Nearby, on Anchor Lane, is Hardy's Animal Farm for the children, open from Easter to October.
  • To see the new village sign, visit Ridgecrest Co.
  • See our touring page for visitor services.
You can see pictures of Ingoldmells which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Ingoldmells has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • In 1900 the parish had a Coast Guard station with Walter MEAD as the lead boatman.
  • David CURRIE has a photograph of the current Coast Guard station on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2006.
  • Bill HENDERSON has a photograph of the Three Tuns Public House on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2013.
  • These are the names associated with the Three Tuns in various directories:
Year  Person
1842 John SOWDEN
1868 Michael WHILEY
1872 -- not listed --
1882 Joseph DAVISON, victualler
1900 Mrs. Susannah HARDY
1913 John TAYLOR
1930 John TAYLOR


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF560680 (Lat/Lon: 53.186201, 0.333282), Ingoldmells which are provided by:

Military History

  • RAF Ingoldmells was a Chain Home Low station during World War II. This station, along with others, served as an early warning radar of Luftwaffe raids on the Midlands.
  • The War Memorial Cross in the churchyard on High Street dates from 1600 and was updated in 1919. It is a Grade II listed item with British Heritage.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the Churchyard Cross on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2009.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Ingoldmells is from the Old Scandinavian Ingjaldr+melr, or "sandbanks of Ingjaldr". It appears, perhaps incorrectly, in the 1086 Domesday Book as in Guldelsmere, and in the 12th century as Ingoldesmeles.
    A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991.
  • The locals pronounce the name as "Ing-a-mells".

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Marsh division of the Candleshoe Wapentake in the East Lindsey district and parts of Lindsey.
  • On March 24, 1888, a detached part of Ingoldmells was added to Addlethorpe parish, and part of that parish transferred to Ingoldmells.
  • For today's district governance, see the East Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spilsby petty session hearings every other Monday.
  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Spilsby Poor Law Union.


Year  Inhabitants
1801 137
1831 206
1851 286
1871 301
1881 241
1891 197
1911 208
1921 262
1991 1,668


  • A Board School (formerly National) was built in 1825 and enlarged in 1865.
  • A School Board was formed on 10 March, 1876, for the united district of Addlethorpe and Ingoldmells. They took over the school listed above.
  • A Public Elementary School was built here in 1909 to hold 74 children.
  • The current Ingoldmells Primary School is on Simpsons Court, Ingoldmells, Skegness, Lincs, PE25 1PS, UNITED KINGDOM, tele: 01754 72989.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.