We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Kirkby Underwood

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 620
1851 H.O. 107 / 2095
1861 R.G. 9 / 2316
1871 R.G. 10 / 3313
1891 R.G. 12 / 2556

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kirkby Underwood area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Mary and All Saints (or All Angels).
  • The church was restored in 1893.
  • The church seats 200 people.
  • There is a church photo available at Which.Net.
  • There is a photograph of St. Mary and All Saints Church on the Wendy PARKINSON web site under her "Still more Lincolnshire churches".
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Mary and All Saints Church on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2005.
  • Here is a photo of St. Mary and All Saints Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Mary and All Saints Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1558. Some sources give 1569.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several indexes (marriage and burial) for the Aveland and Ness Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This village and parish is situated about five miles north of Bourne, just west of the A15 trunk road. Aslackby parish lies to the north and Rippingale parish to the east. The parish covers just under 1,100 acres.

A small creek runs past the north side of the village, enventually joining the River Glen near Bourne. If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Kirkby Underwood which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Kirkby Underwood has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF070270 (Lat/Lon: 52.829885, -0.413258), Kirkby Underwood which are provided by:

Military Records

Michael Peck provides us with: "There are two memorials, one covering both WW1 and WW2 while the second (a window) is for WW1 only - and this appears to be missing one name (Hill) which appears on the roll. There is an associated plaque with the window, this shows some names and so is included. The window shows ranks and arms of service, the roll merely shows ranks and names. Names recorded are:"

  • Pte Bertie Evlyn RUDKIN
  • Pte Ernest Henry RUDKIN
  • Pte John Thomas WYER
  • Pte Richard CHRISTIAN
  • Pte Christopher HILL. 1939 - 1945.
  • Major John HOLDERNESS

Regarding Private HILL: Quoting Rebecca CONDON: "...the name was forgotten originally and added later when the mistake was realised."

Window

  • Pvte Bertie Evlyn RUDKIN Lincs Regiment
  • Pvte Ernest Henry RUDKIN Royal Berkshire Regiment
  • Pvte John Thomas WYER Kings Own Royal Lancashire Regiment
  • Pvte Richard CHRISTIAN Labour Corps

Associated Plaque - The memorial window at the east end of the chancel was designed and executed by Messrs Burlinson and Grylls Window Artists, London. It was unveiled by W Dyson Esq of Bulby Hall and dedicated by Rev Canon W W Layng Rector of Rippingale and Rural Dean of the Deanery on 24th October 1920. John Smithson Barstow MA Rector, Henry Burbank, Thomas Wyer Churchwardens

Names, Geographical

  • The name "Kirkby" is common in the Midlands. The village name is from the Old Scandinavian kirkju+by, meaning "village with a church". "Underwood" has been added to differentiate it from the other Kirkby villages and hamlets in Lincolnshire.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aveland Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • You can contact contact the local Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed or funded to help you with family history searches. The site does have a good nostalgia piece.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases were heard in the Bourne petty session hearings on Mondays.
  • The parish had 5 almshouses or bede-houses, endowed by the BROWNLOW family, but these were disused shortly after 1938.
  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Bourne Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 181
1831 162
1841 192
1871 214
1881 213
1891 201
1901 169
1911 155
1921 129

Schools

  • A School Board was established in the parish in July, 1895.
  • In the late 1800's, about 30 children attended the school in Kirkby Underwood. Miss Ellen Layland was the schoolmistress in 1871.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.