Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Kirkby la Thorpe

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Kirkby la Thorpe

Cemeteries

  • St Denys, Church Lane, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the Heckington sub-district until 1890 of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In 1891 the parish was reassigned to the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 620
1861 R.G. 9 / 2345
1871 R.G. 10 / 3352
1891 R.G. 12 / 2579

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kirkby la Thorpe area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • There were formerly two churches in the parish. Saint Peter's was pulled down around 1637. The church of Saint Denis is of Norman origin.
  • St. Denis was restored in 1911-12.
  • The church of St. Denis seats 100.
  • There is a photograph of the Anglican parish church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Here is a photograph of St. Denis Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Denis Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1660.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1661 to 1812 and Marriages from 1661 to 1712.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Heckington sub-district until 1890 of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In 1891 the parish was reassigned to the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Kirkby la Thorpe is both a village and a parish, just east of Sleaford on the road to Boston. Evedon parish is to the north and Old Sleaford parish to the west. The parish covers about 2,575 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • The village is bisected by the A17 arterial road as it passes east of Sleaford.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Kirkby la Thorpe which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Kirkby la Thorpe has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Kirkby la Thorpe to another place.

History

  • Saxon remains and pottery have been found in the parish.

Maps

  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF090450 (Lat/Lon: 52.991230, -0.377551), Kirkby la Thorpe which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • "Kirkby", of course, comes from Old Scandinavian word for "Church".
  • The name derives from Ledulve+thore, meaning "settlement of a man named Ledulf".
    A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991.
  • Locals often pronounce the name with emphasis on the middle word, as in "Kirkby LAY Thorpe".

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aswardhurn Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, in the parts of Kesteven.
  • In April, 1931, this Civil Parish was reduced in size by 1 acre to create the new Asgarby and Howell Civil Parish.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 160
1841 213
1871 230
1881 256
1891 257
1901 234
1911 229
1921 228

Schools

  • A National School was built here in 1860.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.