Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Langtoft

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.



  • A small cemetery was laid out prior to World War II alongside the A15 on the east side of the road. The cemetery was extended in 2012. The webpage author could find no online or written history of this cemetery.


  • The parish was in the Deeping sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 620
1851 H.O. 107 / 2095
1861 R.G. 9 / 2319
1871 R.G. 10 / 3317
1891 R.G. 12 / 2558


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Langtoft area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican church is dedicated to Saint Michael. (It may be St. Michael and All Angels.)
  • The oldest portions of the church appear to be from the 13th century.
  • The church was restored in 1859.
  • The church seats 290.
  • There is a photograph of St. Michael's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Michael's Church on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2007.
  • Here is a photo of St. Michael's, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Langtoft - St. Michael Church

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers exist from 1668, but Bishop's Transcript entries go back to 1561.
  • The Lincolnshire Archives have parish register baptisms 1724-1756 on fiche (ref: 13 18 002 01A) and Bishops' Transcripts 1562-1812 on film (ref: MF 4/449, 450). [David Meredith]
  • We have the beginning of a parish register extract in a text file. Your additions are welcome.
  • The LFHS has published several indexes for the Aveland and Ness Deanery to make your search easier.
  • There was a Congregational chapel built here in 1874. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Deeping sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Langtoft is both a village and parish two miles northwest of Market Deeping, 5 miles south of Bourne and 41 miles southeast of Lincoln. The A15 trunk road goes right through the village. Deeping St. Nicholas lies to the northeast. The area is flat fenland, drained by many small canals, including the South Drove Drain.

If you are planning a visit:

  • Rodney BURTON has a photograph of the rather distinctive Village Sign on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2007.
  • There is bus service from Bourne and Peterborough.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Langtoft which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Langtoft has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • In the east of the village were the remains of a large mansion, supposed to have been the residence of the HYDE family. Anne HYDE married James II.


  • See our Maps page for resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF123125 (Lat/Lon: 52.698512, -0.339590), Langtoft which are provided by:

Military History

  • The RAF established a Ground Control Intercept (GCI) station here in 1942.
  • The equipment was upgraded in the late 1940s and in the 1950s the station was rebuilt as a ROTOR station.
  • The station was placed in reserve in March, 1958 and was closed down and sold off some time in the mid 1960s.
  • There are photographs and a more detailed history at the Site Records web page.

Military Records

Michael PECK provides us with: "The names recorded (and there is no indication of which war caused the individual deaths) are as below. There are no ranks or arms of service specified:"

  1. Harrold AYRE
  2. Ernest Norman BADGER
  3. Robert DAY
  4. Henry FLATTERS
  5. John FOWLER
  6. Henry GAY
  7. William Edward GAY
  8. James Leonard GOODMAN
  9. Robert Arthur PLOWRIGHT
  10. George PORTER
  11. Ernest THACKER
  12. Abraham WARN
  • Lyn BARBER advises that Ernest THACKER died on 7/1/1943 at age 20 and was buried in Tunisia. He was a gunner in the Royal Artillery.
  • See the Langtoft War Memorial site for a list of parishioners who gave their lives in service to their country.

There is one Commonwealth War Grave from World War II in the parish cemetery for:

  1. Robert Arthur PLOWRIGHT, srgt., RAF 206 Sqdn., age 20, died 1 Jan. 1941. Son of Thomas and Mary E. PLOWRIGHT of Langtoft.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Langtoft is from the Old Scandinavian langr+toft, or "long homestead" and is listed in the 1086 Domesday Book as Langetof.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Ness Wapentake in the South Kesteven district and parts of Kesteven.
  • In April, 1931, this parish gained land from several neighboring Civil Parishes in a boundary re-adjustment. The parish grew from 2,133 acres to 2,915 acres.
  • You may contact the local Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to assist you with family history searches.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases were heard in the Bourne petty session hearings on Mondays.
  • We have copies of a handful of Langtoft Apprentice papers from the 1800s.
  • In 1707, Rachel HYDE left £50 for the poor. The money was used to purchase a small plot of land which was later sold for £450. The money was then used to purchase two houses in Long Sutton which were rented and the rental income distributed to the parish poor.
  • In 1820, the Rev. John MOSSOP leftalittle over 3 acres of land to generate revenue for poor widows of this parish and Baston parish.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor law Amendment Act, this parish became part of the Bourne Poor Law Union.


Year  Inhabitants
1801 386
1831 606
1841 778
1871 698
1881 584
1891 533
1911 496

Probate Records

Ros DUNNING provides a transcript of the will of MOSSUP, John of Langtoft.

Ros DUNNING also provides a transcript of the will of PEASGOOD, Elizabeth of Langtoft.

Ros DUNNING also provides a transcript of the will of ROWBOTTOM, Elizabeth of Langtoft.


  • A Public Elementary School was built here in 1859 by Lord Aveland and enlarged in 1875.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.