We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Laughton (Folkingham)

Census

  • The parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 620
1851 H.O. 107 / 2095
1861 R.G. 9 / 2316
1871 R.G. 10 / 3313
1881 R.G. 11 / 3196
1891 R.G. 12 / 2556
1901 R.G. 13 / 3024

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Laughton (Folkingham) area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church here was in ruins by the beginning of the 19th century. White's 1842 Directory refers to this place as a "small churchless parish".
  • The remains of the churchyard may still be traced.
  • The inhabitants of this parish attended church in Folkingham parish.

Church Records

  • There are no parish registers for Laughton. Check the registers of adjoining parishes, starting with Folkingham. Sometime prior to 1838 the vicarage was merged with the rectory at Folkingham.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Aveland and Ness Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This village and parish lies 8 miles north of Bourne, south of Sleaford on the A15 trunk road. Aslackby parish lies to the south, Folkingham to the north, and Sempringham to the east. The parish covers only 1,136 acres.

The centre of Laughton is 1.5 miles south of Folkingham. If you are planning a visit:

  • The village is too small to appear on many modern maps.
  • See our touring page for visitor services.
You can see pictures of Laughton (Folkingham) which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Laughton (Folkingham) has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF077317 (Lat/Lon: 52.871980, -0.401321), Laughton (Folkingham) which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • In the 1086 Domesday Book, the village name is rendered as Loctone, from the Old English loc+tun meaning "enclosure that can be locked".
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Bourne petty session hearings.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became a member of the Bourne Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 29
1831 75
1841 73
1871 75
1891 78
1911 70

Schools

  • The author of this web page could find no record of a school in this parish.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.