Laughton (Folkingham)
- The parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1841 |
H.O. 107 / 620 |
| 1851 |
H.O. 107 / 2095 |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2316 |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3313 |
| 1881 |
R.G. 11 / 3196 |
| 1891 |
R.G. 12 / 2556 |
| 1901 |
R.G. 13 / 3024 |
- The Anglican parish church here was in ruins by the beginning of the 19th century.
- The remains of the churchyard may still be traced.
- The inhabitants of this parish attended church in Folkingham parish.
- There are no parish registers for Laughton. Check the registers of adjoining parishes, starting with Folkingham. Sometime prior to 1838 the vicarage was merged with the rectory at Folkingham.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Aveland and Ness Deanery to make your search easier.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
This village and parish lies 8 miles north of Bourne, south of Sleaford on the A15 trunk road. Aslackby parish lies to the south, Folkingham to the north, and Sempringham to the east. The parish covers only 1,136 acres.
The centre of Laughton is 1.5 miles south of Folkingham. If you are planning a visit:
- The village is too small to appear on many modern maps.
- See our touring page for visitor services.
- The national grid reference is TF 0731.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer #248 map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- In the 1086 Domesday Book, the village name is rendered as Loctone, from the Old English loc+tun meaning "enclosure that can be locked".
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
- As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became a member of the Bourne Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
29 |
| 1831 |
75 |
| 1841 |
73 |
| 1871 |
75 |
| 1891 |
78 |
| 1911 |
70 |
- The author of this web page could find no record of a school in this parish.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 27-June-2010 - Louis R. Mills]