Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Leasingham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Leasingham

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • During the Census, the parish was combined with Roxholme township (just to the north).
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 620
1851 H.O. 107 / 2100
1861 R.G. 9 / 2342
1871 R.G. 10 / 3349
1891 R.G. 12 / 2577

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Leasingham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican church of Saint John the Baptist in North Leasingham was pulled down in the 16th century. By 1841, no trace remained.
  • The Anglican parish church of Saint Andrew appears to date from the 15th century or earlier. It was restored in 1863.
  • St. Andrew seats 200.
  • There is a photograph of St. John's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Here is a photo of St. Andrew's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Andrew's Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register, which includes Roxholme, dates from 1682.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1575 to 1813 and Marriages from 1576 to 1812.
  • The Bishop's Transcripts start in 1562.
  • Shelley CLACK provides a transcipt of the monuments in Leasingham churchyard in a Portable Document File to help with your search.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • There was a chapel here for the Wesleyan Reformed Methodists. The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel in Roxholm. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • There was a chapel in Roxholme for Congregationalists, built in 1871.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Leasingham is a both a parish and a village just north-north-west of Sleaford. Ruskington parish lies to the north-east. The parish is just under 3,000 acres and includes the hamlet of Roxholm (Roxholme).

If you are planning a visit:

  • By car, take the A15 trunk road north out of Sleaford for about two miles.
  • You should check out the Village Hall as photographed by David HURN on Geo-graph in 2007. Stop in and check the schedule of current events.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Leasingham which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Leasingham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Manors

  • Roxholm Hall is a modern mansion of brick and stone. In 1891, it was the residence and property of John Albert COLE.
  • In 1911, Roxholm Hall was the residence and property of Mrs. BOURN.
  • There is an Old Hall mentioned in published directories, but no history was provided.

Maps

  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF050480 (Lat/Lon: 53.018987, -0.436145), Leasingham which are provided by:

Military History

Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken on a December day in 2009.

John EMERSON, who retains the copyright, provides these photographs of the war memorial at Leasingham:

War memorial

plaque 1  plaque 2

plaque 3  plaque 4

footing 1  footing 2

footing 3

Military Records

John EMERSON also supplies this list of names off of the memorial:

To the glory of God and in memory of those men from this parish who laid down their lives in the Great War 1914-1918

Rank Name Unit Died Notes
Cpl C. BANKS Dragoons 18-Nov-1919
Lc Cp C. N. STANYON N Lincs 13-Oct-1919
Pte E. THORPE York & Lancs 31-Aug-1919
Pte A. SIMPSON ??? 4-Nov-1919
??? H. BELLAMY Lancs 25-May-1917
Dvr R. LOVE R. E. A. 6-July-1917
Lt. Col. C. M. WATERLOW Ryl Eng 20-July-1917
Pte W. ANDREWS W. Yorks 3-Dec-1917
Dvr W. DICKINSON 11-Jul-1918
Pte G. LEFFLEY 2-Sept-1918
Svc S. SIMPSON 20-Oct-1918
Pte S. SIMPSON 13-May-1919
1939-1945
George R. WOODS 28-Sept-1941
John E. WOODS 19-Oct-1943
Cyril DODSWORTH
Lc Cpl Charled E. TUCKER 12-Dec-1944
Roger CALE
John HEPPELL 22-Oct-1943
Albert BOURNER 07-Jan-1942

Names, Geographical

  • Locals pronounce the name as "Lezingham". [Simon MEEDS, 2001]

Politics and Government

  • Leasingham became a modern Civil Parish in late 1726.
  • Leasingham civil and eclessiastical parishes are the consolidation of the two parishes of South Leasingham and North Leasingham (also called "Roxholme").
  • The parish was in the ancient Flaxwell Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, in the parts of Kesteven.
  • You may contact the local Leasingham Parish Council regarding civic or political issues. Be aware that they will not assist with family history research.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
  • Leasingham Moor and the Common Lands were enclosed here in 1821.
  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.
  • In 1876-84, the Bishop of Nottingham established alsmhouses here for poor widows.
  • A Miss WELLS, a former resident of the parish, left the interest from £1,000, part of which was used to maintain a clothing club for widows and widowers.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 264
1811 329
1841 472
1851 428
1871 390
1881 368
1891 340
1901 314
1911 319
1921 299
1931 367

Schools

  • There was a Public Elementary School built here in 1849. The school was enlarged circa 1905 to hold 120 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.