Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Little Bytham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Little Bytham



  • The parish was in the Corby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 615
1851 H.O. 107 / 2095
1861 R.G. 9 / 2315
1871 R.G. 10 / 3311
1891 R.G. 12 / 2555


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Little Bytham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Medardus (or "Medard") and Saint Gildard, two 6th century French saints.
  • Parts of the church appear to date from circa 1000.
  • The church tower dates from around 1225.
  • The church was restored in 1875.
  • The churchyard was enlarged in 1904.
  • The church is a Grade I listed building with British Heritage.
  • The church seats 144.
  • Tim HEATON has a photograph of the Church of St Medard and St Gildard on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2006.
  • Here is a photo of St. Medard's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Medard's Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1681 and the Bishop's Transcripts from 1561.
  • The Lincolnshire Archives have the Parish Register for these dates: Baptisms 1681-1930, Marriages 1681-1926, Burials 1681-1849.
  • The Lincolnshire Archives have the Bishop's Transcripts for this parish, but, as of 2012, they were not catalogued properly. The Family History Library in Salt Lake City and the Family History Centre in London have the BTs from 1561 through 1838. These can be ordered on Microfilm.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Beltisloe Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here in 1880. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Corby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Little Bytham is both a village and parish which lies 92 miles north of London, 8 miles north of Stamford, 7 miles east of Bourne and 4 miles south of Corby Glen. Castle Bytham parish lies to the west and Creeton parish to the north. The parish covers just over 1,230 acres.

The village is called "an ancient village on an acclivity" in the early directories of 1800. The River Tham flows through the village and on toward the River Witham. The West Glen River passes just east of the village. If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, the village lies just east of the A1 trunk road.
  • Check the bus schedules at Transport Services. Beware, some routes do not have scheduled stops in Little Bytham, they just pass through the village. Remember to ask the driver if they stop (or will stop) there.
  • The village Hall is on High Street, postal code NG33 4QX.
  • There is a caravan park just northwest of the village.
  • Some travellers will prefer the Willougby Arms for a meal and beverage. They are on Station Road.
  • You might need a refreshing pint of ale care of the Newby Wyke Brewery.
  • Keep up with events by visiting The Bythams website.
  • See our touring page for visitor services.
You can see pictures of Little Bytham which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Little Bytham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • Clay was worked into pottery here in Roman times.
  • The "Adamantine Clinker & Fireclay Company" were the 20th century followup in making firebricks.
  • The main line of the Midland and Great Northern is considered to begin at a point near Little Bytham, where it is connected with the L.M.S. branch from Saxby. It crosses the L.N.E.R. and runs via Bourne, Sutton Bridge, South Lynn, Fakenham, and Melton Constable, to Cromer. This line carries the express trains from the Midlands to the East Coast.
  • For a little railroad nostalgia, check out the Flickr photograph of an A1 Pacific.
  • The parish erected a recreation and reading room in 1900.
  • The parish holds an annual village feast on or near St. Medard's day, June 8th.


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF013180 (Lat/Lon: 52.750106, -0.500614), Little Bytham which are provided by:

Military History

  • A cross was erected in the churchyard in memory of the men of the parish who perished in World War I.
  • Rex NEEDLE has a photograph of the War Memorial in the churchyard on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2009.

Names, Geographical

  • Bytham is from the Old English bythme or "valley bottom," and the name first appears in 1067 as Bytham and in the 1086 Domesday Book as Bitham.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].
  • Locals pronounce the name as "Bye-Tham".

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Beltisloe Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • You may contact the Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT funded to help you with family history searches.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Bourne petty session hearings.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, this parish became part of the Bourne Poor Law Union.


Returns from 1086 are from the Domesday Book. 1991 is an estimate.

Year  Inhabitants
1086 150
1801 189
1831 237
1841 300
1871 324
1891 482
1901 378
1911 419
1991 265


  • By 1841 there was a school here, supported by Mrs. REYNARDSON, for the education of 22 poor girls. The 1841 schoolmistress was Elizabeth ATTON.
  • In 1877 a Pulic Elementary School for 120 children was built here.
  • See our Schools page for more information on researching school records.