Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Lutton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.



  • St Nicholas, Lowgate, Sutton St Nicholas (Lutton), Church of England


  • Sutton St. Nicholas was part of the Long Sutton sub-district of the Holbeach Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 611
1851 H.O. 107 / 2097
1861 R.G. 9 / 2326
1871 R.G. 10 / 3329
1891 R.G. 120 / 2568


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lutton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Nicholas.
  • The church seats 300.
  • Guy ERWOOD has a photograph of Lutton church on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2004.
  • Here is a photo of St. Nicholas Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Nicholas Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1538.
  • Check the East Elloe Deanery page to see which indexes are available.
  • The Baptist Unitarians had a chapel here, closed by 1870. The Primitive Methodists built a chapel here in 1834. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • Sutton St. Nicholas was part of the Long Sutton sub-district of the Holbeach Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Sutton St. Nicholas (also known as "Lutton") is a parish about 105 miles north of London, a mile north off the A17 trunk road that runs between King's Lynn and Holbeach, which is four miles to the northwest. Gedney parish lies to the north and west. The Wash forms the eastern boundary. The area is marshy, drained by several small canals. The principal village is Lutton (or Lutton Bourne). In area, the parish covers 3,777 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Lutton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Lutton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • Sutton St. Nicholas is considered the original parish of the cluster of "Sutton" parishes in the Holland area. In 1332, the area was one of the most populous in Lincolnshire, with over 5,000 inhabitants.
  • To avoid the plague, several wealthy London merchants settled here in 1603. Dr. Busby, the celebrated master of Westminster school, was born here in 1606, and buried in Westminster Abbey in 1695.


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF433255 (Lat/Lon: 52.807989, 0.124530), Lutton which are provided by:

Military History

  • The parish erected a pillar surmounted by a carved Jesus opposite the churchyard as a memorial to the men of Lutton who fell in World War I. There is also a Roll of Honour inside the church.

Military Records

Names, Geographical

  • The name Sutton St. Nicholas is from the Old English suth+tun, or "southern village". The name Lutton is from the Old English luh+tun, or "farmstead by a pool", and appears as Luctone in the 1086 Domesday Book.
    ["A Dictionary of English Place-Names," A. D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1991]
  • The name Lutton reputedly comes from "lode town". The lodes (or drains) in the area pass through the parish.

Politics and Government

  • Lutton was made a Civil Parish in 1894, formed out of Long Sutton. It had been formed as an ecclesiastical parish in 1882, again out of Long Sutton.
  • The parish was in the ancient Elloe Wapentake in the South Holland district and parts of Holland.
  • For today's district governance, visit the South Holland District Council site.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.


Some population changes were due to shifts in parish boundaries.

Year  Inhabitants
1801 600
1831 706
1871 862
1891 686
1911 657


  • A National School was erected in the parish in 1848, at a cost of 600 Pounds, by the Reverend E. L. BENNETT. In 1870 it had 100 students.
  • A School board was formed here in April, 1871.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.