Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Markby

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Markby

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Alford sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 640
1851 H.O. 107 / 2110
1861 R.G. 9 / 2378
1871 R.G. 10 / 3397
1891 R.G. 12 / 2605

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Markby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • There was a priory for Black or Austin Canons here, founded by Ralph Fitz-Gilbert in 1203 or 1204. No vestige of it now remains.
  • The ancient Church of Saint Peter (seen below) was converted by 1911 to be used only for baptisms and burials. A new church, Christ Church, was erected in 1885 on a site donated by Charles L. MASSINGBERD, who died in 1887.
  • There is a photograph of Christ Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Here is a photograph of the Church of St. Peter with a thatched roof in 1911. This is the only thatched-roof church in Lincolnshire. The photograph was taken by John HILES and he retains the copyright:

Markby Church 1911
Markby Church with thatched roof, c. 1911

  • Here is a photo of St. Peter's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Peter's Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1557.
  • The London Family History Centre has the parish register on microfilm covering 1557-1967.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Calcewaith and Candleshoe Deanery to make your search easier.
  • There was a Wesleyan Methodist chapel in the parish built in 1860. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Alford sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Markby is a parish and a small village sitting about 4 miles north-east of Alford. The parish is small, covering only about 650 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Markby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Markby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF480780 (Lat/Lon: 53.278308, 0.218292), Markby which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the Wold division of the ancient Calceworth Wapentake in the East Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • In March, 1887, the parish was reduced in size to enlarge Hannah cum Hagnaby Civil Parish.
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire reports, perhaps erroneously, that this parish was in the South Lindsey division of the county.
  • For today's district governance, see the East Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Spilsby Poor Law Union.
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Alford petty session hearings every other week.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 61
1831 94
1841 102
1851 115
1871 126
1881 118
1891 100
1901 87
1911 88

Schools

  • The parish is included in the Hannah-cum-Hagnaby United School District, formed in 1887.
  • A Public Elementary School was built in 1887 for 60 children.
  • See our Schools page for more information on researching school records.