Markby
- The parish was in the Alford sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2378 |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3397 |
- There was a priory for Black or Austin Canons here, founded by Ralph Fitz-Gilbert in 1203 or 1204. No vestige of it now remains.
- The ancient Church of Saint Peter (seen below) was converted by 1911 to be used only for baptisms and burials. A new church, Christ Church, was erected in 1885 on a site donated by Charles L. MASSINGBERD, who died in 1887.
- There is a photograph of Christ Church on the Wendy Parkinson Church Photos web site.
- Here is a photograph of the Church of St. Peter with a thatched roof in 1911. The photograph was taken by John Hiles and he retains the copyright:

Markby Church with thatched roof, c. 1911
- Here is a photo of St. Peter's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish registers date from 1558.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Calcewaith and Candleshoe Deanery to make your search easier.
- There was a Wesleyan Methodist chapel in the parish built in 1860. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Alford sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Markby is a parish and a small village sitting about 4 miles northeast of Alford. The parish is small, covering only about 650 acres.
If you are planning a visit:
- The national grid reference is TF 4878.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil parish when those were established.
- The parish was in the Wold division of the ancient Calceworth Wapentake in the East Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
- In March, 1887, the parish was reduced in size to enlarge Hannah cum Hagnaby Civil Parish.
- Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire reports, perhaps erroneously, that this parish was in the South Lindsey division of the county.
- For today's district governance, see the East Lindsey District Council.
- As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Spilsby Poor Law Union.
- Bastardy cases would be heard in the Alford petty sessional hearings.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
61 |
| 1831 |
94 |
| 1841 |
102 |
| 1871 |
126 |
| 1881 |
118 |
| 1891 |
100 |
| 1901 |
87 |
| 1911 |
88 |
- The parish is included in the Hannah-cum-Hagnaby United School District, formed in 1887.
- A Public Elementary School was built in 1887 for 60 children.
- See our Schools page for more information on researching school records.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 17-November-2011 - Louis R. Mills]