Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Nettleham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.




  • The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • We have started a 1901 census return extract. Your additions to this are welcome.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 641
1871 R.G. 10 / 3369
1891 R.G. 12 / 2589


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Nettleham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
  • The origin of the building is "ancient," but a date is unknown.
  • The church was restored in 1881 and again in 1891.
  • The church seats 250 people.
  • Here is a photo of All Saints Church, taken by (and copyright of) Wendy PARKINSON.

Nettleham parish church

  • Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

All Saints parish church

  • Here is a photograph of the interior of All Saints Church, taken by Debbie SHEARWOOD (who retains the copyright):

All Saints interior

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1583.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1583 to 1812 and Marriages from 1583 to 1812.
  • Check our Nettleham Parish Register Extract page for possible relatives. You are welcome to add your extracts.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • There was a Wesleyan Methodist chapel built here prior to 1900, as well as a United (Free) Methodist chapel. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Nettleham parish is 3 miles northeast of Lincoln parish and city and south-west of Scothern parish. The parish covers about 3,490 acres.

Nettleham is a fair-sized village. If you are planning a visit:

  • Check for bus service from the Linconshire Road Car Company of Lincoln.
  • By automobile, take the A46 trunk road north-east out of Lincoln or south out of Middle Rasen.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Nettleham which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Nettleham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • The Brown Cow Inn, just off the Lincoln Road (the A46) west of the village, was a popular spot for travellors.
  • J. THOMAS has a photograph of the Brown Cow on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2013.
  • These are the names associated with the hotel in various directories:
Year  Person
1842 -- not listed --
1930 Alfred VAUGHAN


  • Nettleham Hall is a stone mansion on a slight hill. The Hall was destroyed by fire in 1937. The iron gates to the property were once the entrance to the churchyard at St. Peter-at-Arches, Lincoln.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the Iron Gates on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2005.


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF000750 (Lat/Lon: 53.262567, -0.502238), Nettleham which are provided by:

Military History

  • On the village green is a stone cross in memory of the men of the parish who fell in World War I.
  • The HMS Nettleham (M2713) was named after this village. She was a Ham-class inshore minesweeper launched in 1956. She was sold in 1967.

Military Records

For a photograph of the Nettleham War Memorial and the list of names on it, see the Roll of Honour site.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and it became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • You may contact the Nettleham Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they will NOT do family history research for you.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln (Bail and Close) petty session hearings on the 1st and 3rd Friday of every month.
  • In 1723 John MOSS left £1 yearly derived from a rent charge on land.
  • In 1786 John AISTROPPE left £50, the interest of which was to be distributed in bread to the poor.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.


Year  Inhabitants
1801 377
1831 714
1841 841
1851 944
1871 922
1891 914
1911 1,012


  • A Public Elementary School for up to 200 children was built here in 1856.
  • In 1900, an Infants' School for up to 88 children was built here.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.