Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Newton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

Newton

topup
topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • In an 1890 re-organisation, the parish was transferred to the Leadenham sub-district.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 621
1861 R.G. 9 / 2346
1871 R.G. 10 / 3353

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Newton area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church was dedicated to Saint Botolph.
  • The church was restored in 1865-66.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Botolph's Church on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2009.
  • Here is a photograph of St. Botolph church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Botolph's church
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1612.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1584 to 1812 and Marriages from 1611 to 1813.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • In an 1890 re-organisation, the parish was transferred to the Leadenham sub-district.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
topup

Description and Travel

Newton (by Folkingham), is both a village and parish south of Sleaford. Threckingham parish lies to the east.

If you are planning a visit:

  • The village is just south of the A52 trunk road and just west of the A15's junction with that road.
  • Check out our touring page for resources.

You can see pictures of Newton which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Newton to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Newton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Manors

  • Newton House was built in 1839-41.
  • Newton House was the property of Sir Charles Glynne Earle WELBY in 1911.
topup
topup

Politics and Government

topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
  • The poor of Walcot parish had 10 shillings from land rented at Newton. The donor of this parcel was unknown.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.
topup

Population

Year Inhabitants
1801 127
1841 221
1871 196
1891 187
1911 153
topup

Schools

  • A Public Elementary Schools was built here in 1874 to hold up to 103 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.