Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Normanton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Normanton

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Grantham sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 621
1861 R.G. 9 / 2353
1871 R.G. 10 / 3363
1891 R.G. 12 / 2586

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Normanton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The present Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Nicholas.
  • The church seats about 130.
  • The Diocese of Lincoln declared this church redundant in February, 1974.
  • During much of the year, the church is open for tours on Saturdays and Sundays, 10:00 to 17:00.
  • A photograph of St. Nicholas church is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • Here is a photo of St. Nicholas Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Nicholas Church

Church Records

  • The parish register dates from 1670, but Bishop's transcripts go back to 1562.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1670 to 1812 and Marriages from 1670 to 1812.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes for the Loveden Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Grantham sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This village and parish sits 8 miles north of Grantham and just 2 miles southeast of Caythorpe. The parish covers about 1,550 acres. Ancaster parish is just to the southeast, Carlton Scroop parish to the southwest and Hough on the Hill parish to the west.

The village is right on the A607 trunk road north out of Grantham. If you are planning a visit:

  • Take the A17 west out of Sleaford and then the A607 south past Caythorpe.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Normanton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Normanton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Normanton to another place.

History

Land and Property

  • In 1871, the Earl BROWNLOW owned nearly all the land in the parish.
  • In 1913, the Earl BROWNLOW was the principal landowner.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK940460 (Lat/Lon: 53.003056, -0.600655), Normanton which are provided by:

Military Records

Michael PECK provides us with: "The war memorials at Normanton have now been recorded. There are three, one is dedicated to WW1, one to WW2 and the third is to a named individual. There are no numbers, ranks or arms of service mentioned except for the individual:"

WW1 memorial

  1. Frank Cartwright
  2. Walter Crowley
  3. Joseph S Gale
  4. Charles Hedworth
  5. John T Hempsall
  6. Charles E Spendlow
  7. Richard Woods

WW2 memorial

  1. John M Chambers
  2. John D Andrew
  3. David Brister
  4. Edward H Dennison

Individual

  1. The electric lighting of this church was installed by Thomas Chambers in memory of his son Sub-Lieut John M Chambers killed in action 25th Nov 1940.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Normanton is fairly common. It is Old English northman+tun, or "farmstead of the Northmen or Norwegian Vikings".
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Names, Personal

  • Here's a list of surnames from White's 1871 Directory: BARNETT, CHAPMAN, CUPIT, FISHER, HUNT, MINTA, POLLARD, RIPLEY, SCOTT, WADESON and WALTON.
  • Kelley's 1913 Directory lists these surnames: DUNN, HEDWORTH, HUNT, MINTA, POLLARD, RIPLEY, SHAW, THURLBY and WOOD.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Loveden Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • You may contact the local Carlton Scroop and Normanton Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to help you with family history searches.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spittlegate (Grantham) petty session hearings.
  • Captain Lewis GWIN's charity provided £3 and 6 shillings yearly for fuel for the poor. An unknown donor contributed another £2.
  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Grantham Poor Law Union in 1837.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 160
1841 200
1851 179
1861 172
1871 155
1881 143
1891 143
1911 165

Schools

  • I could find no record of a school prior to 1913.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.