North Witham
- The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
- In an 1890 reorganisation, the parish was allocated to the Grantham South sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3355 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Mary.
- The church is believed to havve been built around 1086, although there is evidence of an Anglo-Saxon origin.
- The church tower and spire were built between 1380 and 1410.
- The church was partially restored in 1852, then more completely restored in 1887.
- The church seats 110.
- Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- Anglican parish registers exist from 1591.
- Boyd's marriage index covers the period from 1562 - 1837.
- The LFHS has published several indexes (marriage and burial) for the Beltisloe Deanery to make your search easier.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
- In 1891, the district was reorganized and the parish was in the Grantham South sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
North Witham is both a village and parish on the River Witham 9 miles south of Grantham. The river flows north at this point, toward neighboring Colsterworth parish. Gunby parish lies to the west. The parish covers just over 2,430 acres and includes the hamlet of Lobthorpe.
If you are planning a visit:
- The village is less than a mile off the A1 trunk road to the west.
- The village had a large inn and posting house (Black Bull) on the Great North Road.
- Visit our touring page for more sources.
- Lobthorpe Hall was taken down around 1800. It had been the seat of Sir Brownlow SKERARD
- The national grid reference is SK 9221.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- In 1942 the dense woodland of Twyford Wood was surveyed for possible airfield use. The Air Ministry requisitioned the site from the Forestry Commission.
- The airfield was laid out in the normal A pattern and sites for parking 50 bombers were laid out. Because of the growth of US involvement in the air war, the airfield was destined to have a long career with the USAAF. It became a USAAF active station in December 1943.
- RAF North Witham became a Pathfinder School in March 1944 and stayed under that role until September 1944.
- In June 1945 North WItham airfield was returned to the RAF, but the airfield was already in a "care and maintenance" status. It started a new life as an equipment spares depot in July.
- RAF North Witham was finally closed in 1956 and then was sold off by February 1960. The forestry Commision regained the site and replanted it with trees. At last report the control tower and one hangar remained, as well as the old runways.
- Witham is from the Celtic or pre-Celtic river name of uncertain origin, and the name appeared as Widme in the 1086 Domesday Book.
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
- The parish was in the ancient Betisloe Wapentake in the South Kesteven district and parts of Kesteven.
- For today's local governance, the Parish Council was merged with that of nearby Colsterworth in 2007.
- For today's district local governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.
- The poor of the parish had a yearly rent-charge of £1 out of land at Ufford left by Ruth EDGE in 1717.
- The poor of the parish also the dividends from £122 and 2 shillings out of bequests by Sir. B. SHERARD and four other donors.
- As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Grantham Poor Law Union.
- Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spitalgate petty sessional hearings.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
168 |
| 1831 |
273 |
| 1841 |
300 |
| 1851 |
309 |
| 1861 |
278 |
| 1871 |
236 |
| 1891 |
199 |
| 1911 |
126 |
- A public elementary school was built here in 1872 to hold 41 children.
- In 1941, at 3AM on Good Friday, a German bomb destroyed the old National School building, which was empty at the time. The school was never rebuilt.
- See our Schools page for more information on researching school records.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 2-February-2012 - Louis R. Mills]