Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Northorpe

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Northorpe

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Scotter sub-district of the Gainsborough Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 641
1871 R.G. 10 / 3441
1891 R.G. 12 / 2632

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Northorpe area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican church is dedicated to Saint John the Baptist.
  • Some of the lower portions of the church appear to be of Saxon origin. Most of the structure is Late Norman in style.
  • The church seats 120.
  • There is a photograph of St. John's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. John's Church on Geo-graph, taken in 2005.
  • Here is a photo of St. John's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. John's Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1593.
  • We have a partial Parish Register Extract in a text file. Your additions are welcome.
  • Check the Manlake Deanery to see what LFHS indexes exist.
  • One should check Gordon WARRINGTON's contributions to FreeReg, which contains baptisms from 1791 - 1981.
  • At the North Lincolnshire Library, copies of the parish register are on file covering baptisms, 1593 - 1985, burials, 1593 - 1985, and marriages, 1593 - 1983.
  • The Primitive Methodists had a small chapel here, built in 1847 and enlarged in 1899. For information and assistance in researching Methodist chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Scotter sub-district of the Gainsborough Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Northorpe is a parish and village about eight miles north-east of Gainsborough, due south of Scunthorpe about 11 miles and about 150 miles north of London. Scotton parish lies to the north and Kirton in Lindsey parish to the northeast. The River Eau runs northward through the eastern portion of the parish on its way to the Trent. A small parish in area, it covers only about 1,800 acres. Southorpe parish was once an extra-parochial portion of Northorpe.

Researchers should be careful as there are at least two other hamlets called Northorpe in Lincolnshire (in Donington and Thurlby parishes) and the name occurs elsewhere in England.

If you are planning a visit:

  • The village of Northorpe is perhaps best reached off of the A159 trunk road. Either come south through Scotter and Scotton or east at Blyton onto the B1205.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Northorpe which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Northorpe has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Northorpe to another place.

Manors

  • Northrope Hall is an Elizabethan manor, once the seat of the MONSON family.
  • Northcote Hall is a more recent structure, erected by T. F. EMBELTON-FOX.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK890970 (Lat/Lon: 53.462224, -0.660916), Northorpe which are provided by:

Military History

  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the War Memorial in the churchyard on Geo-graph, taken in 2005.

Military Records

For the list of names on the War Memorial, see the Roll of Honour site.

Names, Geographical

  • The name derives from Old Scandinavian Nor+throp, for "northern farm".
    ["A Dictionary of English Place-Names," A. D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1991]

Names, Personal

  • Surnames associated with this parish include YERBURGH, MONSON, DALTON and EMBERTON-FOX, all wealthy landowners. Other surnames include COOK, DUCKERING and SLEIGHTHOLME.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Corringham Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.
  • In April, 1936, Southorpe Civil Parish was abolished and merged back into this Civil Parish.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 105
1831 128
1851 179
1861 194
1871 208
1891 196
1911 210

Schools

  • A National School was built here in 1846 for as many as 50 children.
  • The National School building is now the parish hall.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the old National School building on Geo-graph, taken in 2008.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.