We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Pinchbeck

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Pinchbeck sub-district of the Spalding Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • Check for ancestors on our 1901 Census Surname Extract.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 609
1851 H.O. 107 / 2096
1861 R.G. 9 / 2320
1871 R.G. 10 / 3318 & 3322
1881 R.G. 11 / 3200
1891 R.G. 12 / 2559
1901 R.G. 13 / 3028

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Pinchbeck area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican church is dedicated to Saint Mary.
  • There was a chapel of ease at Money Bridge in the 1800's.
  • There is a photograph of St. Mary's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Here is a photo of St. Mary's church, taken by (and copyright of) Gordon WALTON:

St. Mary's parish church

  • Here is a photo of St. Mary's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Mary's church

  • West Pinchbeck is an ecclesiastical parish formed on 11 March 1851 from Pinchbeck and Spalding civil parishes.
  • The Anglican parish church in West Pinchbeck is dedicated to St. Bartholomew.
  • The church of St. Bartholomew was built in 1849.
  • The church was restored in 1897.
  • The church seats 350.
  • Here is a photo of St. Bartholomew's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

St. Bartholomew's church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1560.
  • We have a small Register Extract file to which you are welcome to add your extracts.
  • Most of the Pinchbeck parish registers have already transcribed to FreeREG up to about 100 years ago (due to the 100 Year Closure regulations).
  • Michael EDGOOSE has provided a list of Away from home - buried in Pinchbeck folk.
  • West Pinchbeck parish registers exist from 1850.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the West Elloe Deanery to make your search easier.
  • There was an Independent chapel built in the parish at Money Bridge in 1787. The Baptists built one in 1844 and the Free Church Methodists followed with a chapel in 1847. A United Methodist chapel was built in West Pinchbeck in 1863. Check our Non-Conformist Church Records page for additional resources.
  • Tim HEATON provides a photograph of the Baptist Church on Geo-graph, taken in 2007.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Pinchbeck sub-district of the Spalding Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Pinchbeck is both a village and parish a mile north of Spalding and situated south of Surfleet parish that includes the hamlet of Pinchbeck West. The A16 trunk road passes through the parish. The area is flat fenland, drained by many small canals. The parish covers over 14,000 acres. West Pinchbeck is an ecclesiastical parish formed on 11 March 1851 from Pinchbeck and Spalding civil parishes.

The village of Pinchbeck is two miles north of Spalding on the Donington Road and 95 miles north of London. The River Glen flows easterly past the north end of the village. If you are planning a visit:

  • It is probably easiest to take the A16 Motorway north from Spalding for about one mile, or south out of Boston past Seas End.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
  • It's a SIGN! Watch for the village sign (copyright Patricia McCRORY) as you enter:

Pinchbeck sign   Pinchbeck sign 2

Pinchbeck sign 3

You can see pictures of Pinchbeck which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Pinchbeck has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • The first drains around Pinchbeck were built in the 1590s.
  • In 1742, a brass Roman coin of Commodus was found in the manor house gardens.
  • Much of the parish was given over to pasturage in the 1800s.
  • In 1871, a Mr. M. I. AITKEN had a flax scuthching mill here, employing about 100 people.
  • The village is also mentioned in "Aspects of Spalding Villages," by Michael J. Elsden, cost is approx. £19.95.
  • You can also find the village in "Remembrances of Times Past," by Tom Bray, publ. Elsam Cross & Co., Spalding, 2005.
  • The Bell Inn on Church street is still operating. It had the following names associated with it in various directories:
Year  Person
1842 Wm. PLOWRIGHT
1868 Charles SMITH
1872 Charles BARTRY, vict.
1882 Chas. BARTY, vict.
1900 Jacob George DOUGAN
1913 Edward John HAYNES
1919 Edward John HAYNES
1930 Jn. WAKELEN
  • The Old Boarden (Bourden) Bridge Inn had the following names associated with it in various directories:
Year  Person
1842 Abraham POPE
1868 Thomas WAITE
1872 Thomas WAITE, vict.
1882 Mrs. Mary WAITE, vict.
1913 -- not listed --
1930 -- not listed --
  • The Cross Keys Public House in Glenside had the following names associated with it in various directories:
Year  Person
1842 Wm. SHARPE
1868 Robert CROSBY
1872 Robert STAPLETON, vict.
1882 -- not listed --
1900 Mrs. Elizabeth PEACH
1913 William DEATON
1919 Joseph WARRINGTON
1930 Robert HOLEHOUSE
  • The Cuckoo Inn at Cuckoo Bridge is now a private residence. It had the following names associated with it in various directories:
Year  Person
1868 William ATKIN
1872 William ATKIN, vict.
1882 George ATKIN, vict.
1900 Joseph BRIDGES
1913 William COUPLAND
1930 William HOLLIS
  • The Fisherman's Arms Public House in Pode Hole is still operating. It had the following names associated with it in various directories:
Year  Person
1872 -- not listed --
1882 John Thomas BURDELL, farmer
1900 Wm. WILKINSON
1913 Alred SWAN
1919 William Thomas CODDINGTON
1930 Mrs. M. CODDINGTON
  • The Fisherman's Boy Public House in West Pinchbeck is now closed. It had the following names associated with it in various directories:
Year  Person
1872 -- not listed --
1882 -- not listed --
1913 Jn. WRIGHT
1919 Samuel GRAY
1930 Thos. WRIGHT
  • The Horse and Jockey Public House in West Pinchbeck was used for some of the county coroner inquests. It had the following names associated with it in various directories:
Year  Person
1842 John HICKSON
1868 John PAGE, farmer
1872 John PAGE, farmer
1882 John PAGE, farmer
1900 John B. TOMLINSON, farmer
1913 Edward BOOTHBY
1919 Edward BOOTHBY
1930 Jn. Saml. SHARMAN
  • The Old Five Bells Public House on River side appears to have closed around 1940. It had the following names associated with it in various directories:
Year  Person
1842 Wm. GULSON
1868 Edward JACKLIN, wheelwright
1872 Edwin JACKLIN, bricklayer
1882 Edward JACKLIN, vict.
1900 Edward JACKLIN
1913 Mrs. Mary JACKLIN
1919 Joseph Elston HODSON
1930 Joseph Elston HODSON
  • There was a Peacock Inn which appears to have closed around 1945. It had the following names associated with it in various directories:
Year  Person
1842 -- not listed --
1872 -- not listed --
1882 -- not listed --
1913 George William BREWESTER
1919 George William BREWESTER
1913 George William BREWESTER
1930 George H. BREWESTER
  • There was a Red Lion Public House which appears to have closed around 1945. It had the following names associated with it in various directories:
Year  Person
1842 James FROST
1868 -- not listed --
1872 -- not listed --
1900 Bailey PARKER
1913 Bailey PARKER
1919 Jn. Saml. SHARMAN
1930 W. C. HILLIERS
  • The Rose and Crown Public House appears to have closed around 1900. It had the following names associated with it in various directories:
Year  Person
1842 John ARNSBY
1868 Isaac JACKSON
1872 Isaac JACKSON, vict.
1882 Isaac JACKSON, vict.
  • The Ship Public House at Northgate is still open. Terry BUTCHER has a phorograph of The Ship Inn on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2006
  • The Ship had the following names associated with it in various directories:
Year  Person
1900 William Thomas CATER
1913 Herbert J. SMITH
1919 Herbert J. SMITH
1930 Herbert J. SMITH
  • The Wheat Sheaf Public House had the following names associated with it in various directories:
Year  Person
1913 James CROFT
1919 James CROFT
1930 Micheal HEALY
  • The Bull Inn is a well-known Public House on Knight street in Pinchbeck, but appears to be a relatively new establishment. Brian GREEN provides a photograph of the The Bull P. H. on Geo-graph, taken in 2007.
Year  Person
1842 John YARRAD
1868 James HARRISON
1872 Mrs. Frances HARRISON, brewer
1882 Samuel ORBELL, farmer
1900 Samuel ORBELL
1913 Samuel ORBELL
1919 Miss A. Bainbridge ORBELL
1930 Miss A. Bainbridge ORBELL

The ORBELLs were from Huntingdonshire.

Manors

  • The moated Manor House at Pinchbeck was Pinchbeck Hall or Otway Hall, depending on which of the two families occupied it at the time. It was torn down in 1802 and a new Hall built in its place in 1812.
  • In 1900, Pinchbeck Hall was the residence of Mrs. Mary BEATSON.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF230250 (Lat/Lon: 52.808504, -0.176646), Pinchbeck which are provided by:

Military History

  • Terry McKENNA provides a photograph of the War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2006.
  • We have eight photographs of the Pinchbeck War Memorial which honours those who served in both World Wars. The photographs may slow the download. To skip to the text list of names, go to the Pinchbeck War Memorial List.

Military Records

St. Mary's churchyard has two Commonwealth War Graves from World War I:

  1. Harry ORBELL, corp., Royal Engineers, age 46, died 27 Oct. 1917. Son of Samuel ORBELL, husband of Hannah ORBELL.
  2. William Bailey PARKER, priv., Lincs Rgt., age 30, died 30 Nov. 1918. Son of Bailey PARKER.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Pinchbeck is from the Old English pinc+bece or pinca+bece, meaning either "Minnow Stream" or "Finch Ridge". In the 1086 Domesday book, the village is given as Pincebec.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].
     

Names, Personal

  • George Edward Cockayne's "Lincolnshire Parish Registers and Monumental Inscriptions" contains a list of Rectors of Pinchbeck prior to 1699.
  • Kelly's 1896 Directory lists these residents of the parish: BEATON Mrs. Pinchbeck Hall; WAYET Rev Frank Field (vicar); DARLEY Benjamin, farmer Surfleet Rd; DARLEY George, Farmer Surfleet Rd; GUY Benjamin, wheelwright and blacksmith, Knight St; GUY Sarah (Mrs) farmer; HARGRAVE Isaac butcher; NICHOLLS John farmer; ORBELL Samuel, The Bull Inn; RICHARDSON William, bulb and fruit grower and farmer Surfleet rd; ROWLAND John Wm farmer The Grange. (Thanks, Louise Oliver).
  • Check for ancestors on our 1901 Census Surname Extract.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Elloe Wapentake in the South Holland district of the parts of Holland.
  • In August, 1882, this parish was enlarged when it gained the Star Lode Drove and adjacent parcels from Cowbit Civil Parish.
  • In March, 1887, this parish was reduced in size when it gave Cowbit Wash to Cowbit Civil Parish and Deeping Road allotments to Spalding Civil Parish, but it gained the Forty Foot Bank from Spalding Civil Parish.
  • In April, 1932, this parish was reduced by 535 acres given over to Spalding Civil Parish in return for 1 acre in that parish.
  • You may contact the local Parish Council regarding civic or political matters, but they are NOT staffed to help you with family history searches.
  • For today's district governance, visit the South Holland District Council site.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 1,538
1831 2,391
1851 3,062
1871 3,149
1891 2,822
1911 2,836

Probate Records

Michael EDGOOSE has an index to Pinchbeck wills (beneficiaries, witnesses, landlords, tenants, etc. mentioned in Pinchbeck wills 1500-1750) at Rootsweb. To access:

  • Go to Rootsweb.com
  • Enter the surname for which you are searching
  • When the first page of results come back, then click on "British, UK and Ireland Data" to restrict the range of the display.
  • Look for information given under the following sub-headings:
    1. Name: i.e. the subject of your search
    2. Location of Event: ENG
    3. Parish: Pinchbeck
    4. Date: 1500-1750 (i.e. the scope of the index)
    5. Source: The Lincs Archives Will Reference which includes the year of probate
    6. Notes: The name here is that of the testator. The information after the semi-colon is the relationship of the subject of your search to the testator.

Schools

  • Pinchbeck West school was erected here in 1849, followed by Pinchbeck East in 1854. Between them, in 1911, they held 350 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.