Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Quadring

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Quadring

Cemeteries

  • Salem, Water Gate, Baptist (Particular)

  • St Margaret, Cross Gate, Church End, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the Donington sub-district of the Spalding Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 609
1851 H.O. 107 / 2096
1861 R.G. 9 / 2321
1871 R.G. 10 / 3319

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Quadring area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Margaret.
  • Most of the church structure dates from the 1400s. An earlier Norman church is believed to have stood on the same site.
  • The church was restored in 1862.
  • The church was partially restored in 1868-72.
  • The church seats 350.
  • There is a photograph of St. Margaret's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Here is a photo of Saint Margaret's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Saint Margaret's Church

Church Records

  • The parish registers go back to 1583.
  • Check for marriages in the West Elloe Deanery indexes provided by the Lincolnshire FHS.
  • We have a partial (very partial!) extract of baptisms from the Quadring parish register.
  • Both the Wesleyan and Primitive Methodists had chapels here. For information and assistance in researching Methodist chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Donington sub-district of the Spalding Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Quadring is both a village and parish 8 miles north of Spalding and 102 miles north of London. The parish is bounded on the north by Donington parish and on the south by Gosberton parish. Eaudyke is a hamlet in the parish, 1.5 miles east of the village of Quadring. The area is flat fenland, drained by many small canals, and covers about 4,210 acres. If you are planning a visit:

  • The village lies north of the A16 trunk road and south of the A52.
  • See our touring page for visitor services.
You can see pictures of Quadring which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Quadring has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Quadring to another place.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF220330 (Lat/Lon: 52.880611, -0.188484), Quadring which are provided by:

Military Records

For a photograph of the Quadring War Memorial plaques and the names on them, see the Roll of Honour site.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Quadring is from the Old English cwead+haefer+ingas, or "Muddy settlement of Haefer". It might be hard to understand how that converted over time until you see that in the 1086 Domesday book, the village is given as Quadhaveringe.
    A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991.
  • The locals often pronounce the name as "Quaardrin". And "Quaardrin Iddicks" would be Quadring Eaudyke. [Jeff Ashberry]
  • [Dave Wilson], in Anglesey, Wales, provides that his father would call it "Quadring Edick".
  • John Bland tells us (2004) that the locals pronounce the name as "Kway-dring O-doik".

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Kirton Wapentake in the South Holland district in the parts of Holland.
  • In August, 1882, this parish gave up the Westhorpe area to Gosberton Civil Parish.
  • In October, 1925, this parish swapped 122 acres for 117 acres with Gosberton Civil Parish.
  • You can contact the local Parish Council about civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to answer family history questions.
  • For today's district governance, visit the South Holland District Council site.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Kirton and Skirbeck petty session hearings.
  • Prior to 1834, the poor of this parish had the revenue from 40 acres of Poor's Land, derived from unknown doners at the Enclosure of common lands in 1755.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Spalding Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 506
1831 858
1841 971
1871 938
1891 852
1901 804
1911 814

Probate Records

Ros DUNNING provides a transcript of the will of Sarah ORME of Polebrook, NTH, who was buried in Quadring.

Schools

  • Quadring Mixed School was built in 1877 and enlarged in 1893.
  • Cowley and Brown's Charity School was founded in 1700.
  • Crawford's Infant School was established prior to 1900.
  • Crawford's Eaudyke School was established prior to 1900.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.