Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Quarrington

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Quarrington

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 621
1861 R.G. 9 / 2343
1871 R.G. 10 / 3350
1891 R.G. 12 / 2578

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Quarrington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • At the time of the 1086 Domesday Book, there were two churches here.
  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Botolph and is built of Ancaster stone.
  • The church was built in the 13th century.
  • The church was rebuilt on a smaller scale circa 1812.
  • The church tower was restored in 1887.
  • The church seats about 220.
  • A photograph of Saint Botolph's church is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • Here is a photo of St. Botolph's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Botolph Church

Church Records

  • The parish register dates from 1558, but there are no marriages recorded from 1642 until 1648.
  • We have the beginning of a partial extract of baptisms from the Quarrington parish register.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1558 to 1812 and Marriages from 1558 to 1815.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Quarrington is both a parish and a hamlet on the south-west side of the town of Sleaford. The parish covers about 1,470 acres. At the beginning of the 20th century, this was sheep country.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, Quarrington is just to the east of the A15 motor way as it passes south of Sleaford, near the intersection with A153 trunk road.
  • Richard CROFT provides a photograph of the Milepost on Grantham Road on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2010.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Quarrington which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Quarrington has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Quarrington to another place.

Maps

  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF050440 (Lat/Lon: 52.983043, -0.437444), Quarrington which are provided by:

Medical Records

  • The Kesteven County Asylum was erected here, near the border with Rauceby. Please see our Poor Law Asylum page for more information.

Military Records

For a photograph of the Quarrington War Memorial plaques and the names on them, see the Roll of Honour site.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aswardhurn Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, parts of Kesteven.
  • In March, 1888, this Civil Parish gained a portion of Old Sleaford Civil Parish.
  • For today's district governance, contact the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
  • In 1718, Dame Margaret THOROLD left £5 yearly for distribution among the poor of this parish.
  • The Common Land was enclosed here in 1796.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.

Population

The surge in population around 1840 is due to the new railways and the draining of Fen land.

The surge in population around 1900 is due to the growth of Sleaford, to the north, and the building of the county lunatic asylum.

Year  Inhabitants
1801 101
1841 236
1851 264
1871 340
1881 364
1891 454
1901 865
1911 1,649
1921 1,709

Schools

  • The Public Elementary School was built in 1868 and later enlarged to hold 190 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.