We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Raithby

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Spilsby sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers where known.
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 642
1851 H.O. 107 / 2109
1861 R.G. 9 / 2374 & 2375
1871 R.G. 10 / 3392A & 3393A
1891 R.G. 12 / 2603

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Raithby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to the Holy Trinity.
  • Parts of the church are of Norman origin, but a date is uncertain.
  • The church tower is a later addition, constructed of green sandstone.
  • The church was restored in 1873.
  • Here is a photo of the church, taken by (and copyright of) Norma CLARE.

Raithby Holy Trinity church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1558.
  • The Anglican parish registers after 1837 have not been deposited in the Lincs. Archives.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Bolingbroke Deanery to make your search easier.
  • A small Wesleyan Methodist chapel existed here prior to 1841. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page. (JB)
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Spilsby sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration starting in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Raithby is a small village and a parish just 2 miles north-west of Spilsby. The parish covers just 890 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Raithby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Raithby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Manors

  • Raithby Hall was built in 1776 near the church.
  • Raithby Hall, in 1842, was the home of Mrs. Sarah BRACKENBURY.

Maps

  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF370670 (Lat/Lon: 53.182446, 0.048706), Raithby which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • The parish was in the East division of the ancient Bolingbroke Wapentake in the East Lindsey division of the county, parts of Lindsey.
  • The parish was also in the Bolingbroke Soke.
  • In December, 1880, a detached part of this parish was transferred to the new parish of West Fen.
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire places this parish, perhaps erroneously, in the South Lindsey division of the county.
  • For today's governance, see the East Lindsey Disctrict Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spilsby petty session hearings every other Monday.
  • The Common Lands were enclosed here in 1776.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Spilsby Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 149
1831 175
1841 157
1871 202
1881 155
1891 152
1911 135

Schools

  • The Free School was founded in 1668 by Thomas LAWFORD. It allowed students from Raithby, Mavis Enderby, Hundleby and Sausthorpe.
  • The school was rebuilt in 1866 to hold 45 students.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.