Raithby
- The parish was in the Spilsby sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to the Holy Trinity.
- Parts of the church are of Norman origin, but a date is uncertain.
- The church tower is a later addition, constructed of green sandstone.
- The church was restored in 1873.
- Here is a photo of the church, taken by (and copyright of) Norma Clare.

- The Anglican parish registers date from 1558.
- The Anglican parish registers after 1837 have not been deposited in the Lincs. Archives.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Bolingbroke Deanery to make your search easier.
- A small Wesleyan Methodist chapel existed here prior to 1841. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page. (JB)
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Spilsby sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration starting in July, 1837.
Raithby is a small village and a parish just 2 miles northwest of Spilsby. The parish covers just 890 acres.
If you are planning a visit:
- Raithby Hall was built in 1776 near the church.
- Raithby Hall, in 1842, was the home of Mrs. Sarah BRACKENBURY.
- The national grid reference is TF 3767.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
- The parish was in the East division of the ancient Bolingbroke Wapentake in the East Lindsey division of the county, parts of Lindsey.
- Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire places this parish in the South Lindsey division of the county.
- The parish was also in the Bolingbroke Soke.
- In December, 1880, a detached part of this parish was transferred to the new parish of West Fen.
- For today's governance, see the East Lindsey Disctrict Council.
- The Common Lands were enclosed here in 1776.
- As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Spilsby Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
149 |
| 1831 |
175 |
| 1841 |
157 |
| 1871 |
202 |
| 1891 |
152 |
| 1911 |
135 |
- The Free School was founded in 1668 by Thomas LAWFORD. It allowed students from Raithby, Mavis Enderby, Hundleby and Sausthorpe.
- The school was rebuilt in 1866 to hold 45 students.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 7-August-2008 - Louis Mills]