We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Reepham

Cemeteries

  • The Reepham Cemetery is located on Hawthorn Road.
  • J. THOMAS has a photograph of Reepham Cemetery on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2014.

Census

  • The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • We have a text file which is a partial 1891 census extract for the parish.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 642
1861 R.G. 9 / 2357
1871 R.G. 10 / 3369
1891 R.G. 12 / 2589

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Reepham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saints Peter and Paul.
  • The church was restored in 1862.
  • The church seats 230 people.
  • Here is a photo of Saints Peter and Paul Church, taken by (and copyright of) Wendy PARKINSON.

Reepham parish church

  • Here is a photo of St. Peter and St. Paul Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Peter and Paul church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1653.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1653 to 1814 and Marriages from 1755 to 1812.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • There was a Wesleyan Methodist chapel built here prior to 1900. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This village and parish is 4.5 miles eastnortheast of Lincoln parish and city and north of Fiskerton and Cherry Willingham parishes. The parish covers about 1,800 acres.

The village of Reepham is about a mile south of the Roman Road which is now the A158 trunk road. The old railway still runs through the village. If you are planning a visit:

  • Check for bus service from the Linconshire Road Car Company of Lincoln.
  • See our touring page for visitor services.
You can see pictures of Reepham which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Reepham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF036735 (Lat/Lon: 53.248399, -0.448775), Reepham which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient Chapelry in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish around 1830.
  • The parish was in the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey (or Gainsborough) district and parts of Lindsey.
  • In April, 1935, the parish was enlarged by 5 acres by gaining part of Nettleham parish.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln South petty session hearings.
  • In 1880, Ann CROSBY left the interest from £100 for the poor of the parish. The interest was distributed each December 15th.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.
  • Unfortunately, no poorlaw records for Reepham have been archived.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 183
1811 196
1831 295
1841 341
1871 377
1891 396
1901 387
1911 370
1921 332
1931 394
1971 990

Schools

  • There was a National School built before 1900, which could hold up to 80 children. Average attendance in 1900 was 55.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.