Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Rowston

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Rowston

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Billinghay sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 621
1861 R.G. 9 / 2341
1871 R.G. 10 / 3348

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Rowston area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Clement.
  • The church was built in the 12th century.
  • The church was refitted in 1741.
  • The church was restored in 1904-1910.
  • The church is a Grade I listed building with British Heritage.
  • The church seats 100.
  • There is a photograph of St. Clement's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • There is another photograph of St. Clement's Church on FLICKR.
  • Here is a photo of St. Clement's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Clement's Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1566.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1562 to 1813 and Marriages from 1562 to 1812.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check the Churchyard at St. Clements to see if you recognize any names.
  • There was a Wesleyan Reform Methodist chapel built here in 1861. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Billinghay sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This village and parish are north of Sleaford about 12 miles and about a mile north of Digby parish. The parish covers about 1,880 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the 14th century Village Cross on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2010.
  • By automobile, the village lies between the B1188 trunk road and the rail line to the east.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Rowston which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Rowston has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • Rowston is mentioned in the 1086 Domesday Book.

Manors

  • Rowston Manor is a limestone house built in 1741.
  • Additions were made to the house as recently as 1985.
  • The Manor is a Grade II listed building with British Heritage.

Maps

  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF080560 (Lat/Lon: 53.090276, -0.388761), Rowston which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Flaxwell Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, parts of Kesteven.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 100
1821 123
1841 206
1871 233
1881 226
1891 225
1901 202
1911 164
1921 202

Schools

  • A National Schools was built here in 1852. It could hold up to 60 students.
  • The school is a Grade II listed building with British Heritage.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.