We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Saxby

Cemeteries

  • St Helen, Saxby by Owmby, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1861 R.G. 9 / 2364
1871 R.G. 10 / 3375 & 3377

Churches

  • St Helen, Saxby by Owmby, Church of England

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Saxby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Helen.
  • The church was originally built as a mortuary chapel for the SAUNDERSON family in 1775.
  • The church was restored in 1869, then again in 1895.
  • The church seats only about 70 people.
  • The church was restored and redecorated in 1948. It opened for services Sunday, June 13th, 1948.
  • We have a list of contributors, which includes many dates of marriage. We have the same data in a Rich Text File if you prefer.
  • There is a fine photograph of St. Helen's Church at Flickr.
  • Here is a photo of St. Helen's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

St. Helen's Church

Church Records

  • The parish church register dates from 1666.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1666 to 1812 and Marriages from 1555 to 1654.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Saxby (Saxby by Owmby) is both a village and a parish north of the city of Lincoln. Owmby parish lies to the north and Spridlington parish to the south. The parish covers about 1,370 acres.

Saxby village is just about a mile east of the Roman Road known as Ermine Street. If you are planning a visit:

  • Take the A15 north out of Lincoln for about seven miles. About a mile before you get to the to the A631, turn right to Saxby.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Saxby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Saxby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF000860 (Lat/Lon: 53.361411, -0.498773), Saxby which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the eastern division of the ancient Aslacoe Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • The parish is also in the Soke of Kirton-in-Lindsey.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln (Bail and Close) petty session hearings.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 69
1811 115
1831 124
1841 140
1851 120
1871 88
1881 114
1891 129
1901 108
1911 98

Schools

  • Children of this parish attended schools at Spridlington and Normanby-by-Spital.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.