Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Scampton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Scampton

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the North East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 643
1851 H.O. 107 / 2106
1861 R.G. 9 / 2364
1871 R.G. 10 / 3377
1891 R.G. 12 / 2596

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Scampton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican Parish Church is dedicated to Saint John the Baptist.
  • Portions of the building date from Norman times.
  • The church was restored in 1876-7.
  • The church seats about 180 persons.
  • Here is a photo of St. John's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. John the Baptist Church

Church Records

  • The parish register dates from 1548.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1548 to 1812 and Marriages from 1548 to 1812.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Primitive Methodists built a chapel here in 1909. For more on researching these chapel records, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the North East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Scampton is a parish and small town north-north-west of Lincoln. To the south-west is Broxholme parish. Burton by Stow lies to the west. The parish covers just over 2,200 acres. Till Bridge is a hamlet in the parish, 3 miles west of Scampton village, on the River Till.

The village of Scampton is about a mile west of the Roman Road: Ermine Street. If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the A15 trunk road north out of Lincoln and turn left (west) on to the A1500 (Roamn Road) about two miles outside of Lincoln. Scampton village is about a mile from that junction, on the right (north).
  • Also check out alternative ways of reaching the parish via our transport page.
  • Check our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Scampton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Scampton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Manors

  • Scampton House was built on the site of the old Hall, of which only the gateway remained.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK940790 (Lat/Lon: 53.299608, -0.590979), Scampton which are provided by:

Military History

  • There are some excellent photographs of the Scampton Village Church War Memorial on the Maritime Quest website.
  • The Royal Flying Corps opened an airfield here in late 1916 as "Brattleby Aerodrome".
  • Units were stationed here to defend against Zeppelin raids. Near the end of the war, the airfield became a training site and in 1917 it was renamed RFC Scampton.
  • In January, 1920, the airfield was returned to its owners and the RFC (now the RAF) departed. The original buildings were soon destroyed.
  • As the threat of World War II grew, the RAF reacquired the airfield land in 1935. RAF Scampton opened in October 1936 with expanded runways and brick buildings.
  • In 1943 the runways were expanded even further to handle the Lancaster bombers.
  • The "Dambusters" flew their raid from this airfield.
  • From 1947 to 1953 the station was a Bomber Command Instructors School. The US Strategic Air Command used the base for some years and was involved in the Berlin airlift.
  • In May, 1958, Vulcan bombers began using the airfield. They were to stay until 1982, when Scampton returned to a training role.
  • RAF Scampton was placed on "care and maintenance" status in 1996.
  • RAF Scampton is now the home of the RAF Red Arrows, the aerobatic jet demonstration unit.
  • The RAF Scampton Historical Museum opened in August, 1993, at the station headquarters. Admission on weekends is free, but a valid photo ID is required.

Politics and Government

  • The parish was in the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey division of the county, in the parts of Lindsey.
  • The parish holds an annual Parish Meeting each May to inform citizens of plans, progress and activities and to get feedback as well.
  • You can contact the Parish Council on Facebook regarding civic or political matters, but they are NOT staffed to assist with family history searches.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council. The same limits apply.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln (Bail and Close) petty session hearings on the 1st and 3rd Friday of every month.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 133
1821 238
1831 242
1841 224
1851 228
1871 248
1881 230
1891 231
1911 194

Schools

  • The Church of England School was built in 1875 to hold 55 students. The school has a website, but no history is included.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.