Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Scothern

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Scothern

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 643
1861 R.G. 9 / 2364
1871 R.G. 10 / 3377
1891 R.G. 12 / 2596

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Scothern area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint German (sometimes given as St. Germain).
  • The church was rebuilt in 1796 and again in 1861. Additions have been made in more recent years.
  • The church seats 265.
  • A photograph of Saint German's Church is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • J. HANNAH-BRIGGS has a photograph of St Germain Church on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2011.
  • Here is a photo of St. German's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. German's Church

Church Records

  • The parish register dates from 1636.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1630 to 1812 and Marriages from 1630 to 1810.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here in 1858. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Scothern is both a village and a parish 6 miles northeast of the city of Lincoln. Dunholme parish lies to the north, Nettleham parish lies to the south-west and Sudbrooke parish to the south. The parish covers just over 2,400 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • The village of Scothern lies between the A46 north-east out of Lincoln and the A158, also north-east out of Lincoln.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Scothern which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Scothern has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

The Bottle and Glass Public House on Main Street has been a popular spot in the village for conversation and a good meal.

Here are the proprietors of The Bottle and Glas shown in various Directories:

Year  Person
1842 Edward COATES, vict.
1872 Mrs. Sarah WINSON, shopkeeper
1882 Mrs. Sarah WINSON, shopkeeper
1900 William WINSON, farmer
1913 Joseph Hy. CARGILL
1930 Jn. W. COULSON

We know that Sarah WINSON, above, was born around 1819 in Scothern, LIN, but we don't yet know her maiden name.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF033774 (Lat/Lon: 53.283501, -0.452004), Scothern which are provided by:

Military History

  • In 1920 the village erected a granite cross in memory of the men of the parish who died in World War I.

Military Records

For a photograph of the Scothern War Memorial and the list of names on it, see the Roll of Honour site.

Names, Geographical

  • "Scothern" frequently appears in many records as "Scothorne". You may also see it as "Scottern".

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and it became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln (Bail and Close) petty session hearings.
  • In 1616, Robert GRANTHAM left a charity of £16 yearly for 10 poor bedesmen of this parish (and nearby Dunholme and Sudbrooke parishes).
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.
  • The Lincoln Poor Law Union maintained a Boys' Home for pauper children in this parish after 1900.
  • In 1859, Richard ELLISON set up a Trust Fund that left £40 (in 1900) for the poor of this parish.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 328
1821 366
1841 611
1851 572
1871 522
1891 425
1911 433

Schools

  • A Public Elementary School was built here in 1837 by Richard ELLISON. It could hold 130 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.