Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Scott Willoughby

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Scott Willoughby


  • St Andrew, Willoughby Road, Church of England


  • The parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish was transferred to the Leadenham sub-district.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 624
1871 R.G. 10 / 3353
1891 R.G. 12 / 2581


  • St Andrew, Willoughby Road, Church of England

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Scott Willoughby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Andrew and, left unused for many years, was renovated in 1826.
  • The church was restored in 1882.
  • The church only seats 30.
  • Here is a photo of St. Andrew's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Andrew Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1826.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1573 to 1671 and Marriages from 1573 to 1658.
  • The LFHS has published several indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish was transferred to the Leadenham sub-district.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July 1837.

Description and Travel

Scott Willoughby is both a village and parish just over four miles south of Sleaford. Aunsby parish lies to the north and Newton parish to the south. In 1841, the parish covered only 530 acres, comprised of three farms.

There is little left of the village of Scott Willoughby. As you can see from the population table below, there were not many residents in the parish. It is not marked on most small scale (large area) maps. If you are planning a visit:

  • The village is west of the A15 between Bourne and Sleaford, just between Osbournby and Dembleby.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Scott Willoughby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Scott Willoughby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF050370 (Lat/Lon: 52.920140, -0.439709), Scott Willoughby which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • The parish is called "Scot Willoughby", because the church is dedicated to the patron saint of Scotland.
  • The first part of the parish name, "Scott", often appears with a single T, as in "Scot".

Names, Personal

  • White's 1842 Directory of Lincolnshire lists the following persons in the parish: Robert BURROWS, John DAWSON and Richard GREATHEAD, all farmers.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln County and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aswardhurn Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, parts of Kesteven.
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire places the parish in the Aveland Wapentake.
  • In April, 1931, this parish was abolished to create the new Aunsby and Dembleby Civil Parish.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.


Year  Inhabitants
1801 9
1841 22
1871 23
1881 36
1891 34
1901 29
1911 35
1921 39