Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Scotton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Scotton

Cemeteries

  • St Genewys, Eastgate/Northope Road, Church of England

Census

  • Scotton was part of the Scotter sub-district of the Gainsborough Registration District.
  • The North Lincolnshire Library holds copies of the census returns for 1841, 1851, 1861, 1871, 1881, 1891, and 1901.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 643
1851 H.O. 107 / 2119
1861 R.G. 9 / 2406
1871 R.G. 10 / 3441
1881 R.G. 11 / 3293
1891 R.G. 12 / 2632
1901 R.G. 13 / 3109

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Scotton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Genewys.
  • Here is a photo of St. Genewys Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Genewys Church

  • Here is a photo of the Chapel of Ease built at East Ferry, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

East Ferry Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1560.
  • Find out which marriage and burial indexes are available for the Manlake Deanery.
  • The Lincolnshire Family History Society does have the "Kirton Lindsey burials 1813-1900" fiche set which includes Scotton.
  • Parish registers are on file at the Society of Genealogists for the period of 1671 through 1812.
  • Copies of the parish registers are also held at the North Lincolnshire Library and cover baptisms 1560 - 1988, burials 1560 - 1952, and marriages 1560 - 1924.
  • Parish registers are also online for 1560 thru 1782 at Lincs to the Past.
  • Scotton had chapels for the Wesleyan and Primitive Methodists. For information and assistance in researching Methodist chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • See our Church Records page to see county-wide sources.

Civil Registration

  • Scotton was part of the Scotter sub-district of the Gainsborough Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration starting in July 1837.

Description and Travel

Scotton is a village and parish on the River Eau. It lies 9 miles north-east of Gainsborough and 165 miles north of London. The parish of Scotter parish lies to the north, Laughton parish and Northorpe parish to the south. Prior to the mid nineteenth century, the parish covered about 3,900 acres and included the township of East Ferry. Since then, East Ferry has become its own parish.

The village lies east of the the A159 trunk road as it passes between Scunthorpe and Gainsborough. Tributaries of the small River Eau pass the village just north and south. If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Scotton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Scotton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

Scotton history includes some famous figures:

  • Sir Robert NEVILLE (d.1313/14) rebuilt Scotton church and founded a chantry here in 1294.
  • Sir Robert PERCY of Scotton is a somewhat obscure figure, who was a staunch supporter of the Yorkist cause. Sir Robert was probably the son of Robert Percy of Scotton (alive in 1474) by Cecily Metcalfe.
  • Nicolas MALTUS (MALTHUS) received an inheritance here in 1730.
  • The BRITCLIFFE family has a long relationship with Scotton.
  • And some of the EMINSON family papers are at the Lincolnshire Archives at St Rumbold Street, Lincoln LN2 5AB.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK880990 (Lat/Lon: 53.480364, -0.675414), Scotton which are provided by:

Military Records

  • Scotton had a War Memorial list which used to hang in the chapel. The chapel has since closed. A photograph of the memorial is on the Lincolnshire County web site, but the quality is not good enough to make out all the names.
  • There is a Portable Document File of the Scotton Men who Served in the Great War. The file is 58KB in size.
  • There is a photograph of the war memorial in East Ferry and the list of the names from the Roll of Honour at the Roll of Honour site.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Scotton is from the Old English Scot+tun, for "farmstead of the Scots". In the 1086 Domesday Book it appeared as Scotone.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].

Politics and Government

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be held in the Gainsborough petty session hearings every Tuesday.
  • In 1826, Scotton put its poor to work as road labourers.
  • As the result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, this parish became a part of the Gainsborough Poor Law Union.
  • Around 1841, Scotton had the interest from £9 and 10s left by various donors for poor parishioners.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 242
1831 353
1851 488
1861 482
1881 403
1891 219
1911 276
1991 578

Schools

  • A Public Elementary School was built here in 1879 for 50 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.