We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Scrafield

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Tetford sub-district of the Horncastle Registration District.
  • The North Lincolnshire Library holds a copy of the parish census returns for 1841 and 1881.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1851 H.O. 107 / 2108
1861 R.G. 9 / 2369
1871 R.G. 10 / 3383
1891 R.G. 12 / 2599

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Scrafield area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Church of St. Michael went into decay and by 1842 no traces of it remained, but the churchyard was still used for burials. The rectory was consolidated with Hameringham (to the south).

Church Records

  • See Hameringham parish for parish registers.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Horncastle Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Tetford sub-district of the Horncastle Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Four miles east by south of Horncastle, Scrafield is a small parish in the Wold hills. Greetham parish is to the north and Mareham on the Hill parish to the south. The parish covered about 670 acres in 1842 and consisted of just one farm occupied by Adkin Jolland GILLIAT.

There is no village as such. If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Scrafield which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Scrafield has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Land and Property

  • In 1842, Thomas COLTMAN was the only landowner.
  • In 1872 and 1881, the estate of Mr. Justin COLTMAN was the only landowner.
  • In 1900, Wm. Bacheler COLTMAN and Francis Joseph COLTMAN were the sole landowners.

Manors

  • Scrafield House was rebuilt in 1838.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF310690 (Lat/Lon: 53.201923, -0.040204), Scrafield which are provided by:

Names, Personal

  • White's 1882 Directory lists only David ROBERTS, farmer, at Scrafield House.
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory lists only David ROBERTS, farmer, at Scrafield House.
  • Kelly's 1913 Directory lists only Katherine and Ethel ROBERTS, farmers, at Scrafield House.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and it became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • For governance, the parish was in the ancient Hill Wapentake (Hill Hundred) in the East Lindsey district and parts of Lindsey.
  • For today's district governance, see the East Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Horncastle petty session hearings every Saturday.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Horncastle Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 11
1811 13
1821 23
1831 36
1841 33
1851 38
1871 48
1881 53
1891 38
1911 35

Schools