We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Scredington

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish was transferred to the Leadenham sub-district.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 622
1861 R.G. 9 / 2346
1871 R.G. 10 / 3353
1891 R.G. 12 / 2581

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Scredington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Andrew.
  • The church was restored in 1869.
  • The church seats 150.
  • There is a photograph of St. Andrew's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St.Andrew's Church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2006.
  • J. THOMAS also has a photograph of St.Andrew's Church on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2012.
  • Here is a photo of St. Andrew's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Andrew's Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1738.
  • We have a partial Parish Register Extract. Your contributions would be appreciated.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1738 to 1814 and Marriages from 1738 to 1812.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel here, built in 1875. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish was reassigned to the Leadenham sub-district.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Scredington is both a village and parish about 4 miles southeast of Sleaford. Swaton parish lies to the south and Helpringham parish to the east. In 1841, the parish covered 2,530 acres and in 1913 2,633 acres.

The hamlet of Northbeck lies a quarter mile north of the village of Scredington and Highgate hamlet lies a miles southeast. If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Scredington which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Scredington has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • J. HANNAH-BRIGGS has a photograph of the 15th century Packhourse Bridge on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2013.
  • Bricks and tiles were made here in the 1800s.

Maps

  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF094405 (Lat/Lon: 52.950713, -0.373114), Scredington which are provided by:

Military History

  • St. Andrew's Church in the village contains a memorial plaque to those who lost their lives during the First World War.

Military Records

For a photograph of the War Memorial and the list of names on it, see the First World War Fallen page.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Scredington appears in some records as "Screginton." [Anne Cole, 2004]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aswardhurn Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, parts of Kesteven.
  • You may contact the local Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to do family history lookups for you..
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings.
  • The common land was enclosed here in 1798. 19 acres were allotted to the poor and let to a number of cottagers. The revenue was distributed to paupers as coal.
  • The poor here also had the interest of £50, left by an unknown donor.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 222
1841 364
1871 394
1881 341
1891 319
1901 285
1911 322
1921 321

Schools

  • A Public Elementary School was built here in 1877 to hold 80 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.