Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Somerby by Grantham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Somerby by Grantham

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • In an 1890 district re-organisation, the parish was allocated to the new "Grantham South" sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 622
1851 H.O. 107 / 2103
1861 R.G. 9 / 2347
1871 R.G. 10 / 3354
1891 R.G. 12 / 2586

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Somerby by Grantham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Mary Magdalen.
  • The church was apparently built before 1670 and it was entirely restored in 1876.
  • The church has some parts of Norman origin.
  • The church seats about 120.
  • The chapelry at Humbry was formerly the private chapel of the BROWNLOW family. This chapel was restored in 1876.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Mary Magdalen's Church on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2006.
  • Here is a photograph of St. Mary Magdalen's church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Mary Magdalen's church

Church Records

  • St. Mary Magdalen parish registers only date from 1730.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Beltisloe Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Around 1900, the deanery boundaries were re-organized and this parish was placed in the South Grantham Deanery. Researchers should use the indexes above.
  • The Primitive Methodists had a small chapel in the parish. Check our Non-Conformist Church Records page for additional resources.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • In an 1890 district re-organisation, the parish was allocated to the new "Grantham South" sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration beginning in July 1837.

Description and Travel

Somerby is both a parish and a small village about three miles south-east of Grantham. The parish itself is bounded on the north by Londonthorpe parish and to the east by Ropsley parish. The parish covers about 2,155 acres and includes the Chapelry of Humbry.

Old Somerby is a small village, just east of Grantham on the B1176 road. Humby is a hamlet and chapelry in the parish about 3 miles south-east of the main village. If you are planning a visit:

  • The town can be accessed off of the A1 motorway south of Grantham. Turn east on to the A52 and cross the B6403 (the Ermine Street) into Old Somerby.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Somerby by Grantham which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Somerby by Grantham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Somerby by Grantham to another place.

History

  • The village well was sunk and enclosed in 1841.
  • Kate JEWELL has a photograph of Grantham Road on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2007. The photo includes the Fox and Hounds Pub.
  • These are the names associated with the Fox and Hounds in various directories:
Year  Person
1842 Wm, HARRIS, vict.
1868 George TODD
1871 George TODD, farmer, grazier and victualler
1882 William TODD, farmer, grazier and victualler
1900 William TODD, farmer
1913 Joseph W. STOTHARD
1930 Ernest MUSSON

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK958338 (Lat/Lon: 52.893100, -0.577442), Somerby by Grantham which are provided by:

Military History

  • A tablet was placed in the church in 1919 in memory of the men who fell in the Great War.

Military Records

For a photograph of both War Memorial plaques and the list of names on them, see the Roll of Honour site.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Winnibriggs Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • In December, 1894, this parish was abolished and reformed as "Old Somerby" Civil Parish to resolve confusions with the other Somerby in Lincolnshire.
  • For today's local governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • In 1796 the chapelry of Humber had its Common Lands enclosed.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Grantham Poor Law Union.
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spittlegate petty sessional hearings.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 194
1841 267
1851 297
1861 234
1871 271
1891 201
1911 198

Schools

  • A National School (later a Public Elementary School) was built here in 1844 to hold up to 50 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.