We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

South Carlton

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • The North Lincolnshire Library holds copies of the census returns for 1841 and 1881.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 630
1861 R.G. 9 / 2357
1871 R.G. 10 / 3369
1891 R.G. 12 / 2589

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the South Carlton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint John the Baptist.
  • The church dates from the 12th century.
  • The church was repaired in 1812.
  • The church was renovated in 1859.
  • The church was renovated and largely rebuilt in 1859.
  • The church is Grade I listed with British Heritage.
  • The church seats 130.
  • Richrd CROFT has a photograph of St. John's Church on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2009.
  • Here is a photo of St. John's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. John's Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1653.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1655 to 1812 and Marriages from 1655 to 1810.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
  • Several of the monuments in the church have been photographed and are available at Flicr.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This small parish is north of Lincoln parish and city and west of Nettleham parish. The parish covers about 1,950 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By car, the village is just west of the B1398 trunk road, north out of Lincoln, between Burton and North Carlton.
  • Check for bus service from the Linconshire Road Car Company of Lincoln.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of South Carlton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which South Carlton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Manors

  • The manor house of the MONSON family, long sole-owners of the parish, no longer stands. It was taken down before 1912.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK950766 (Lat/Lon: 53.277863, -0.576696), South Carlton which are provided by:

Military History

  • The Royal Flying Corps (RFC) established an airfield here in November, 1916. It was originally home to the 69 Squadron of the Australian Flying Corps.
  • In July, 1918, the field was designated as a Training Depot Station.
  • The airfield was closed in 1920.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the West division of the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • The citizens of the parish feel no need for a formal Parish Council, so they hold periodic Parish Meetings to discuss civic and political issues.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln (Bail and Close) petty session hearings on the 1st and 3rd Friday of every month.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 151
1811 168
1831 204
1841 166
1851 183
1871 172
1881 175
1891 137
1901 181
1911 166

Schools

  • John MONSON founded a Free School here in 1678 to teach 35 poor boys of the area, A Public Elementary Church School (National School) was built here in 1876 to replace that school and included children from North Carlton and Burton.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.