South Carlton
- The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
- The North Lincolnshire Library holds copies of the census returns for 1841 and 1881.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3369 |
| 1891 |
R.G. 12 / 2589 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. John the Baptist.
- The church was renovated in 1859.
- The church dates from the 12th century.
- The church was renovated and largely rebuilt in 1859.
- The church is Grade I listed with British Heritage.
- The church seats 130.
- Here is a photo of St. John's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish register dates from 1653.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1655 to 1812 and Marriages from 1655 to 1810.
- The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- Several of the monuments in the church have been photographed and are available at Flicr.
- The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
This small parish is north of Lincoln parish and city and west of Nettleham parish. The parish covers about 1,950 acres.
If you are planning a visit:
- By car, the village is just west of the B1198 trunk road, north out of Lincoln, between Burton and North Carlton.
- Check for bus service from the Linconshire Road Car Company of Lincoln.
- See our touring page for more sources.
- The manor house of the MONSON family, long sole-owners of the parish, no longer stands.
- The national grid reference is SK 9576.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey "Explorer #272" map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The Royal Flying Corps (RFC) established an airfield here in November, 1916.
- In July, 1918, the field was designated as a Training Depot Station.
- The airfield was closed in 1920.
- This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
- The parish was in the West division of the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
- The citizens of the parish feel no need for a formal Parish Council, so they hold periodic Parish Meetings to discuss civic and political issues.
- District governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.
- As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
151 |
| 1811 |
168 |
| 1831 |
204 |
| 1841 |
166 |
| 1851 |
183 |
| 1871 |
172 |
| 1881 |
175 |
| 1891 |
137 |
| 1901 |
181 |
| 1911 |
166 |
- John MONSON founded a Free School here in 1678 to teach 35 poor boys of the area, A Public Elementary Church School (National School) was built here in 1876 to replace that school and included children from North Carlton and Burton.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 9-August-2012 - Louis R. Mills]