We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Spanby

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In an 1890 re-organization, the parish was re-assigned to the Leadenham sub-district.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 622
1861 R.G. 9 / 2346
1871 R.G. 10 / 3353
1891 R.G. 12 / 2581

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Spanby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Nicholas.
  • The church was rebuilt in 1880 after the old one was torn down. This is at least the third church built on this site.
  • The church is a small red brick building with red Ancaster stone dressings.
  • The church seats about 65 people.
  • The Diocese of Lincoln declared this church redundant in October, 1973. In May of 1977 it was sold and converted into a garden store.
  • The church is a Grade II listed building with English Heritage.
  • Here is a photo of St. Nicholas Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Nicholas Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1681.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire places the parish in the rural Deanery of Aveland, as does the 1913 edition.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1681 to 1812 and Marriages from 1658 to 1758.
  • 400 burials can be found on the NBI for St. Nicholas church covering 1817 thru 1900 (with gaps).
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish was transferred to the Leadenham sub-district.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Spanby is both a village and parish 6 miles due south of Sleaford. Swaton parish lies to the east and Scredington parish to the north. The parish covers just over 1,000 acres.

There isn't much left of the village of Spanby. If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the A52 trunk road between Grantham and Boston, and turn north at Threkingham.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Spanby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Spanby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Manors

  • The site of the ancient manor house was turned into a moated orchard.

Maps

  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF090380 (Lat/Lon: 52.928330, -0.379904), Spanby which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient Chapelry in Lincolnshire. It became a separate, modern Civil Parish some time in the early 1800s.
  • The parish was in the ancient Flaxwell Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, parts of Kesteven.
  • Before 1840, the parish was part of the Aveland Wapentake. Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire also places the parish in the Aveland Wapentake, as does the 1913 edition.
  • In April, 1931, the civil parish was abolished to enlarge Threckingham parish.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
  • Land for the poor was enclosed around 1805.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 59
1831 84
1841 96
1871 115
1881 104
1891 82
1901 84
1911 104
1921 84

Schools

  • The children of this parish attended school in Osbournby parrish.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.