Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Spridlington

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Spridlington

Census

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 644
1861 R.G. 9 / 2364
1871 R.G. 10 / 3376

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Spridlington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Hilary.
  • The present church was erected in 1875 on the site of an older church which had been built around 1821.
  • The church seats 200.
  • A photograph of Saint Hilary's church is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • Here is a photo of St. Hilary's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Hilary's Church

Church Records

  • The parish register dates from 1574.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1560 to 1812 and Marriages from 1560 to 1814.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here in 1838. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Spridlington is both a village and a parish 8 miles north of the city of Lincoln and 9 miles south-west of Market Rasen. Saxby parish lies to the north and Hackthorne parish to the south. Spridlington parish covers almost 2,300 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • Take the A15 trunk road north out of Lincoln. The village is about seven miles outside of Lincoln.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Spridlington which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Spridlington has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Spridlington to another place.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF000840 (Lat/Lon: 53.343440, -0.499405), Spridlington which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • Locals refer to the place as "Sprid". [Jean PRYDE]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the East division of the ancient Aslacoe Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln (Bail and Close) petty session hearings on the 1st and 3rd Friday of every month.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.
  • The parish poor had a rent-charge of £5 (in 1842), left by Charles LOVELL.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 126
1811 179
1821 199
1831 250
1841 292
1851 313
1871 284
1881 291
1891 269
1901 252
1911 221
1921 188

Schools

  • In 1842 the parish paid for 12 poor children to go to school.
  • A school was built here in 1870 to hold up to 70 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.