Spridlington
- The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2364 |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3376 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Hilary.
- The present church was erected in 1875 on the site of an older church which had been built around 1821.
- The church seats about 200.
- A photograph of Saint Hilary's church is at the Wendy Parkinson English Church Photographs site.
- Here is a photo of St. Hilary's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The parish register dates from 1574.
- The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1560 to 1812 and Marriages from 1560 to 1814.
- The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here in 1838. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Spridlington is both a village and a parish 8 miles north of the city of Lincoln and 9 miles southwest of Market Rasen. Saxby parish lies to the north and Hackthorne parish to the south. Spridlington parish covers almost 2,300 acres.
If you are planning a visit:
- Take the A15 trunk road north out of Lincoln. The village is about seven miles outside of Lincoln.
- See our touring page for more sources.
- The national grid reference is TF 0684.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- Locals refer to the place as "Sprid". [Jean Pryde]
- This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
- The parish was in the East division of the ancient Aslacoe Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
- As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.
- The parish poor had a rent-charge of £5 (in 1842), left by Charles LOVELL.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
126 |
| 1811 |
179 |
| 1821 |
199 |
| 1831 |
250 |
| 1841 |
292 |
| 1851 |
313 |
| 1871 |
284 |
| 1881 |
291 |
| 1891 |
269 |
| 1901 |
252 |
| 1911 |
221 |
| 1921 |
188 |
- In 1842 the parish paid for 12 poor children to go to school.
- A school was built here in 1870 to hold up to 70 children.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 22-November-2010 - Louis R. Mills]