We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Stainby

Cemeteries

  • St Peter, Buckminster Lane/Hall Lane, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish became part of the Grantham South sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 622
1851 H.O. 107 / 2102
1861 R.G. 9 / 2347
1871 R.G. 10 / 3355
1881 R.G. 11 / 3228
1891 R.G. 12 / 2582
1901 R.G. 13 / 3052

Churches

  • St Peter, Buckminster Lane/Hall Lane, Church of England

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Stainby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Peter.
  • The church was thoroghly restored in 1865.
  • The church seats 120.
  • Brian GREEN has a nice photograph of St. Peter's Church Tower on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2006.
  • Here is a photo of Saint Peter's Church taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Peter's church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1653 (some sources say 1561).
  • Boyd's marriage index covers the period from 1561 - 1837.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Beltisloe Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish became part of the Grantham South sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Stainby is both a small village and a parish south of Grantham and 7 miles west of Corby. It lies between Colsterworth parish to the east and Buckminster parish in neighborhing Leicestershire to the west, with Gunby parish to the south. The parish covers about 1,500 acres.

There is a hamlet of "Stainsby" in Ashby Puerorum parish near Horncastle.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the B676 arterial road off of the A1 motorway west out of Colsterworth for about 2 miles.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Stainby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Stainby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK910222 (Lat/Lon: 52.789683, -0.652002), Stainby which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • Stainby is from Old Scandinavian for "village of Stigandi", and the name appeared as Stigandebi in the 1086 Domesday Book.
    A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Betisloe Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • The parish was also within the Soke of Grantham.
  • In April, 1931, this Civil Parish was abolished to create a new Civil Parish of "Gunby and Stainby".
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spittlegate (Grantham) petty session hearings.
  • The Common Lands were enclosed here in 1773.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Grantham Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 108
1831 186
1841 189
1851 180
1861 168
1871 163
1891 141
1911 134

Schools

  • The Public Elementary School was built in 1840 to serve Stainby and Gunby parishes. It could hold 60 children, but average attendance was much less.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.