Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Stainton by Langworth

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Stainton by Langworth

Cemeteries

  • The Orchard Cemetery is a relatively new burial ground for both humans and their pets. It is at 31 Hawthorn Road near Reasby (just north of Stainton village by the railway crossing). The cemetery has a website.

Census

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 645
1851 H.O. 107 / 2106
1861 R.G. 9 / 2364
1871 R.G. 10 / 3377
1891 R.G. 12 / 2596

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Stainton by Langworth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint John the Baptist.
  • The church is a small, plain stone structure.
  • The original church here was built in the 14th century.
  • The church was rebuilt in 1795.
  • The church was restored in 1885.
  • The church is a Grade II listed building with British Heritage.
  • The church only seats 80.
  • Richard CROFT has a photo of St. John's on Geo-graph, taken in 2005.
  • Here is a photo of St. John's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. John's Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1720.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier. In the early 1900's, this parish was in the Wraggoe Deanery.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1720 to 1812 and Marriages from 1720 to 1812.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This parish is nNortheast of Lincoln parish and city and just south of Snelland parish. The Langworth rivulet runs through the parish. The parish covered about 2,800 acres in 1841, reduced by World War One1900 to only 1,452 acres.

The village of Stainton by Langworth sits astride the old road between Snelland and Langworth. Reasby hamlet is one mile north. Newball, formerly a hamlet in this parish, is one mile south. If you are planning a visit:

  • Check for bus service from the Linconshire Road Car Company of Lincoln.
  • By car, take the A158 trunk road, the old Roman Road to Horncastle via Wragby, from Lincoln. Just past Langworth, turn north for Stainton.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Stainton by Langworth which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Stainton by Langworth has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Stainton by Langworth to another place.

History

  • The Great Central railway's Hull and Lincoln branch once ran through the parish, but the station was at Langworth.
  • Kate JEWELL has a photo of an Oil Pumping Station on Geo-graph, taken in 2006. This oil well is just north of the village.
  • Richard CROFT has a photo of the Station Level Crossing on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2015. This is also at the north end of the village.
  • In 1842, the village had an Inn called "Blackbirds". In that year, Henry DAWKINS was the victualler. The Inn is now a Bed and Breakfast Inn.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF062776 (Lat/Lon: 53.284726, -0.408456), Stainton by Langworth which are provided by:

Military Records

To see the names listed on the Roll of Honour in the church, see the Roll of Honour site.

Names, Personal

  • White's 1842 Directory lists the following names in the parish: Cath. BROCKLESBY, Robt. BUTLER, Thos. CHAMBERS, Wm. CHANTRY, Hy. DAWKINS, Rev. Geo. ELLIS, Robt. ELVIN, W. Martin EPTON, Wm. GLASIER, Sarah GREENFIELDS, Wm. KNOWLES, Henry MEGGITT, Hanson MINNITT, Wm. NICHOLSON, Rd. PANTON, Wewell SHARPE, Francis TYE and John WRIGHT.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the west division of the ancient Wraggoe Wapentake, in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • This parish has joined with several local parishes to form a Joint Parish Council. You may contact them regarding civic or political matters, but they are NOT staffed to help you with family history searches.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Wragby petty session hearings on the first Thursday of the month.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 166
1811 187
1831 238
1841 222
1851 227
1871 115
1881 126
1891 120
1901 130
1911 105

Schools

  • There was a school built in South Langworth hamlet, built by subscription in 1825. This school replaced an older building and was designed for 120 children.
  • Edmund BOULTER, at an unknown date, left an annual rent charge of £10 for the education of poor children from Stainton and Barlings parishes.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.