Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Stragglethorpe

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Stragglethorpe

Cemeteries

  • St Michael, Stragglethorpe Lane, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the Claypole sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 622
1861 R.G. 9 / 2482
1891 R.G. 12 / 2716

Churches

  • St Michael, Stragglethorpe Lane, Church of England

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Stragglethorpe area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Michael.
  • The church is a small, stone building combining Early English and Norman styles.
  • The church seats about 100 persons.
  • A photograph of Saint Michael's is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • Here is a photo of St. Michael's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Michael's Church

Church Records

  • The parish register dates from 1701, but the Bishop's transcripts start in 1565.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes for the Loveden Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1701 to 1812 and Marriages from 1701 to 1806.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Claypole sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Stragglethorpe is a parish and small village about 8 miles east of Newark on Trent, just south of Brant Broughton parish and east of Beckingham parish. The parish covers about 730 acres.

The village of Stragglethorpe lies just south of the A17 trunk road between Newark and Sleaford. A branch of the River Brant flows northward on either side of the village. If you are planning a visit:

  • Accomodations are available at Stragglethorpe Hall, Tel: 01400 272-308.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Stragglethorpe which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Stragglethorpe has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Stragglethorpe to another place.

History

  • The church contains a monument to Sir Richard EARLE, baronet, dated 13 August 1697. He was the last male descendant of that family.
  • Stragglethorpe Old Hall was the ancestral seat of the EARLE family. In the early 1900's it was occupied by the TONGE family, local farmers.
  • Check the history of the Wapentake at the Loveden Wapentake website.

Land and Property

  • The principal landowner in 1872 was baronet Sir Glynns Earle WELBY-GREGORY, whose ancestors succedded to the manor when the last of the EARLE family died (see History).
  • The principal landowners in 1913 were John and Richard TONGE, local farmers.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK910520 (Lat/Lon: 53.057494, -0.643657), Stragglethorpe which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • The name Stragglethorpe is of uncertain origin, combining the Old Scandinavian thorp, or "outlying farmstead" with what appears to be a personal name. It first appears in 1242 as Stragerthorp.
    ["A Dictionary of English Place-Names," A. D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1991]

Names, Personal

White's 1842 Directory lists the following surnames in the parish:

CHAMBERS, LIEUSLEY and TONGE.

White's 1872 Directory lists the following surnames in the parish:

BONNER, HICKSON, PARKE, SPENCER, STUFFIN and TONGE.

Here are surnames shown in Kelly's 1911 Directory:

BONNER and TONGE.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient Chapelry in Beckingham parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish at an early date.
  • The parish was in the ancient Loveden Wapentake in the North Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard at the Spittlegate petty session hearings.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Newark Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 79
1841 85
1871 85
1881 90
1891 73
1911 74

Schools

  • The children of the parish attended school at Brant Broughton.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.