Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Stubton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Stubton

Cemeteries

  • St Martin, Brandon Street, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the Claypole sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 622
1861 R.G. 9 / 2482
1871 R.G. 10 / 3545
1881 R.G. 11 / 3379

Churches

  • St Martin, Brandon Street, Church of England

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Stubton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The present Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Martin.
  • The church dates back to at least the 15th Century.
  • The church was completely rebuilt in 1800.
  • A photograph of St. Martin's Church is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • Here is a photo of St. Martin's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Martin's Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1577 and Bishop's transcripts from 1562.
  • The LFHS has published several indexes for the Loveden Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Parish registers are now on file at the Society of Genealogists, covering 1562 - 1837.
  • Stubton marriages are in Boyd's Marriage Index, covering 1651 - 1837 and Pallot's Marriage Index, covering 1790 - 1837.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms and Marriages from 1578 to 1812.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Claypole sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This village and parish lies between the A1 and A17 motorways 6 miles south-east of Newark. Largely rural, the parish covers over 1,100 acres and several tributaries of the Witham and Brant Rivers have their sources within its boundaries. Claypole parish lies to the west and Fenton parish to the north.

The village of Stubton is only six miles southeast of Newark-on-Trent, about 20 miles south-west of the city of Lincoln and one mile east of Claypole. If you are planning a visit:

  • Jonathan THACKER has a photograph of the Village Hall on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2010. You should stop by and ask for a schedule of forth-coming events.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Stubton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Stubton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Stubton to another place.

History

Land and Property

  • In 1870, George NEVILE owned almost all of the land in the parish and resided at Stubton Hall. Prior to him, Sir Robert HERON, baronet, was the owner of the estate. In the early 1900's, Sir Ralph Henry Sacheverel WILMOT, baronet, was owner of Stubton Hall and most of the land around it. The hall was unoccupied by 1913.

Manors

  • Stubton Hall is a relatively modern mansion of white brick.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK870480 (Lat/Lon: 53.022212, -0.704402), Stubton which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • The name Stubton is from the Old English stubb+ton, for "farmstead where there are tree-stumps". In the 1086 Domesday Book it first appears as Stubetune.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Loveden Wapentake in the South Kesteven division of the county, in the parts of Kesteven.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spittlegate (Grantham) petty session hearings.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Newark Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 118
1841 170
1871 169
1881 132
1891 127
1911 117

Schools

  • In 1855 a National School was erected here to hold 36 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.