Stubton
- The parish was in the Claypole sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1881 |
R.G. 11 / 3379 |
- The present Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Martin.
- The church dates back to at least the 15th Century.
- The church was completely rebuilt in 1800.
- A photograph of St. Martin's Church is at the Wendy Parkinson English Church Photographs site.
- Here is a photo of St. Martin's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish register dates from 1577 and Bishop's transcripts from 1562.
- The LFHS has published several indexes for the Loveden Deanery to make your search easier.
- Parish registers are now on file at the Society of Genealogists, covering 1562 - 1837.
- Stubton marriages are in Boyd's Marriage Index, covering 1651 - 1837 and Pallot's Marriage Index, covering 1790 - 1837.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms and Marriages from 1578 to 1812.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Claypole sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.
This village and parish lies between the A1 and A17 motorways 6 miles southeast of Newark. Largely rural, the parish covers over 1,100 acres and several tributaries of the Witham and Brant Rivers have their sources within its boundaries. Claypole parish lies to the west and Fenton parish to the north.
The village of Stubton is only six miles southeast of Newark-on-Trent, about 20 miles southwest of the city of Lincoln and one mile east of Claypole. If you are planning a visit:
- In 1870, George NEVILE owned almost all of the land in the parish and resided at Stubton Hall. Prior to him, Sir Robert HERON, baronet, was the owner of the estate. In the early 1900's, Sir Ralph Henry Sacheverel WILMOT, baronet, was owner of Stubton Hall and most of the land around it. The hall was unoccupied by 1913.
- Stubton Hall is a relatively modern mansion of white brick.
- This map from Multimap should help you in your travels.
- The national grid reference is SK 8748.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The name Stubton is from the Old English stubb+ton, for "farmstead where there are tree-stumps". In the 1086 Domesday Book it first appears as Stubetune.
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
118 |
| 1841 |
170 |
| 1871 |
169 |
| 1881 |
132 |
| 1891 |
127 |
| 1911 |
117 |
- In 1855 a National School was erected here to hold 36 children.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 7-November-2008 - Louis R. Mills]