Downtime: The Genuki web service will be unavailable on Tues 24 Apr from 10:00 BST for approximately two hours whilst some software updates are installed.

Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Sudbrooke

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

Sudbrooke

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 645
1861 R.G. 9 / 2364
1871 R.G. 10 / 3377

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Sudbrooke area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Edward the Confessor.
  • The church was rebuilt in 1860.
  • The church only seats about 87.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Edward's Church on Geo-graph, taken in December 2005.
  • Here is a photo of St. Edward's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

St. Edward's Church

topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1579.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms and Marriages from 1579 to 1812.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
topup

Description and Travel

This parish is just north-west of Lincoln parish and city and north of Reepham parish. It is a small parish, covering only about 1,000 acres.

The village of Sudbrooke is an outlying suburb of Lincoln, just off the old Roman Road which is now the A158 trunk road. If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Sudbrooke which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Sudbrooke to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Sudbrooke has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Manors

  • Sudbrooke Holme, a brick mansion, was the residence and property of Mrs. Elizabeth ELLISON in 1871. The home was the former seat of the BERESFORD family.
  • Sudbrooke Holme was the residence and property of Coningsby Charles SIBTHORP in 1900 and 1912.
topup
topup

Military Records

For a list of names on the war memorial plaque in the church, see the Roll of Honour site.

topup

Newspapers

The local Parish Council site provides Portable Document File copies of the Sudbrooke News for those of you who don't live in the parish.

topup

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey in the 19th century.
  • You can contact the local Parish Council about civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to answer family history questions.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln (Bail and Close) petty session hearings.
  • The ELLISON Trust Fund annually provided £20 to the poor of the parish.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.
  • In 1876 Mrs. Humphrey SIBTHORP left a legacy of £100 for the poor of the parish.
topup

Population

Year Inhabitants
1801 86
1821 103
1831 84
1841 81
1851 90
1871 68
1891 86
1911 85
topup

Schools