We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Surfleet

Archives and Libraries

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Gosberton sub-district of the Spalding Registration District.
  • We have the complete 1891 Census for Gosberton and Surfleet (some Enum. Districts overlap).
  • We have a partial surname index for the 1901 Census. Your additions are welcome.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 611
1851 H.O. 107 / 2096
1861 R.G. 9 / 2322
1871 R.G. 10 / 3320
1891 R.G. 12 / 2561
1901 R.G. 13 / 3030

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Surfleet area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church was dedicated to St. Lawrence (also commonly found as "St. Laurance").
  • The church was restored in 1900.
  • The church seats 276.
  • There is a photograph of St. Lawrence's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Another photo of the parish church can be found at Currant Bun site listed on our Church Photographs page.
  • Here is a photo of Saint Laurance's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Saint Laurance's Church

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers exist from 1562 (some sources give 1662).
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the West Elloe Deanery.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists and Free Methodists had chapels in Surfleet. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Gosberton sub-district of the Spalding Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Surfleet is both a village and parish four miles north of Spalding and southwest of Boston that includes the hamlet of Surfleet Seas-End. The parish is bounded on the northwest by Gosberton parish and on the south by Pinchbeck parish. The River Welland and the River Glen provide a boundary line on the southwest edge of the parish. The area is just over 4,060 acres of flat fenland, drained by many small canals, and includes the hamlet of Surfleet Seas-End.

If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Surfleet which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Surfleet has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Manors

  • Cressy Hall, near Risegate Eau, 1.5 miles north of the village, is a handsome mansion.
  • The Manor House was rebuilt by Sir Henry HERON who died in 1695.
  • The Manor House was burnt down about 1820 and was again rebuilt.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF250280 (Lat/Lon: 52.834999, -0.145844), Surfleet which are provided by:

Military Records

  • The list of military men who died in the World Wars can be found on the Surfleet War Memorial.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Surfleet is from the Old English sur+fleot, or "Sour Stream". In the 1086 Domesday Book, the village is given as Sverefelt and in 1167 as Surfleit.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Kirton and Skirbeck petty session hearings.
  • The Common Land was inclosed here in 1777, with 27 acres set aside for the poor.
  • In 1810, Samuel EISDALE let a charity that provided £9 in 1843 to distribute to the poor as food, clothing and the like.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Spalding Poor Law Union.
  • The parish also had enough poor land set aside to generate about £100 in 1900 for distribution to the poor.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 609
1831 871
1871 1,069
1891 979
1911 1,010

Schools

  • The Free school was founded and endowed in 1764 by Lady Ann Fraser. The schoolmaster's income was about 40 pounds a year, for which he taught about 20 free students. This school closed in 1877.
  • The Public Elementary School was built in 1878 to hold up to 130 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.