We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Swaton

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish was transferred to the Leadenham sub-district.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 622
1861 R.G. 9 / 2346
1871 R.G. 10 / 3353
1891 R.G. 12 / 2581

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Swaton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Michael.
  • The church is built in a cruciform shape and dates back to at least the 14th century.
  • There is a photograph of St. Michael's church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • John FIRTH has a photograph of St. Michael's Church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2011.
  • Here is a photo of St. Michael's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Michael's Church

Church Records

  • Parish registers date from 1681.
  • The LFHS has published several indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Copies of the parish registers are held at the Lincolnshire Archives for baptisms 1681-1907, marriages 1681-1966, burials 1681-1812, and the Bishops Transcripts for 1561-1836.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1681 to 1812 and Marriages from 1681 to 1804.
  • Parish registers are on file at the Society of Genealogists covering baptisms: 1686 - 1812.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish was transferred to the Leadenham sub-district.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Swaton is both a village and parish 9 miles south-east of Sleaford, lying just west of the ancient Roman Car Dyke. Helpringham and Scredington parishes border on the north, Spanby and Threckingham to the west and Horbling parish is to the south. The area of the parish is just under 3,300 acres and includes about 940 acres of Fen land extending nearly 3 miles east of the village.

If you are planning a visit:

  • To get to the village, take the A52 trunk road west from Boston, then turn right onto the B1394, which runs through the the village.
  • Look on our transport page for bus and car services.
  • Check out our touring page for resources.
You can see pictures of Swaton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Swaton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • The Romans built or developed a saltern at Swaton.
  • A small stock fair was held in the parish each October 11th until abandoned in 1866.
  • Henry James LEE-WARNER of Norfolk was lord of the manor in 1871. The whole parish, with the exception of the common area, was the property of the crown in 1911.

Manors

  • Swaton Manor was the home of the WARNER family for many centuries.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF133375 (Lat/Lon: 52.922948, -0.316139), Swaton which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • Locals pronounce the name as "Sway-ton".
  • The name Swaton is from the Old English Swafa+tun, or "village of a man named Swafa". It appeared as Svavetone in the 1086 Domesday Book.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aswardhurn Wapentake in the North Kesteven district and parts of Kesteven.
  • In the late part of the 19th century, the parish was reallocated as part of the Aveland Wapentake.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
  • Land for the poor was enclosed in 1805.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 176
1841 304
1871 336
1881 288
1891 271
1901 253
1911 251
1921 250
1991 169

Schools

  • A small school, built by subscription in 1849 was attended then by about 40 students.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.